13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is indeed divine and does not taste like it is low in fat. I did add garlic and shrimp, and I cut the lemon to 1/2 Tablespoon. It was excellent and I will make it again. Thx Lainey.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 06, 2009

This was just OK in my opinion, I made it exactly as stated and had high hopes since all the reviews were so positive, but this was just lacking in the flavor department. I eat a very healthy diet and substitute fattening ingredients for low fat and non fat all the time with no problem at all, but this tasted very low fat to me. My fiance said he tasted nothing but lemon in this, and it absolutely needs garlic. I may try and make it again, cutting down on the lemon and adding some garlic into the mix but overall, I think we'd rather eat a small amount of the real stuff instead of a full plate of this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatriotsGirl July 08, 2009

This is very good. But a bit too lemony for my taste. I did this recipe for our lunches so the next day we had to add milk to make it more creamy. I liked it. I omitted the nutmeg. Thanks Lainey. Made for ZWT4

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 08, 2008

This was ok, but I consider it more of a lemon cream sauce than an alfredo sauce. I made it exactly as the recipe instructed and used fresh lemon juice. It was just WAY too lemony for me. If I make this again, I will take others' suggestions of using less lemon and add minced garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dingo888 January 10, 2013

I found there was not near enough sauce for 8 ounces of pasta. I am going to make it again and double the sauce for the same amount of pasta then I will rate it with stars. Right now it is pretty bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen March 25, 2012

Good recipe! I used fat free half and half, it added a bit of sweetness, I may try low fat milk next time. Very good sauce, but it does need garlic. We had it with some chicken! Tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ransomhouse January 18, 2012

I give this 4 stars. Really really good. Would also be good as a base with leftover chicken or turkey. I added mushrooms to this to "beef it up" for my husband. Coworkers asked me for this recipe when I brought the leftovers in for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shewhomust January 17, 2012

Great dish and so very quick to prepare. Like Chef PotPie, I added minced garlic - and onion - so easy to add both of these; and rosemary and sage (dried in a grinder - I used several grindings) in step 5, before adding the flour. But after that, I followed the recipe exactly. The lemon juice and nutmeg were great in this. My only other addition next time would be some spinach (frozen and thoroughly-drained or baby spinach leaves - or both). Thanks for sharing another super recipe, Lainey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 18, 2008

Love Fettuccini Alfredo but hate the fact that it is so loaded with fat - LOVED LOVED LOVED your version as it is delicious AND low-fat!!! Made as is - except I used spaghetti instead of fettucine! Thanks Lainey! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie August 30, 2008

Can I post twice to give it 10 . Now this did not taste anything like a low fat meal. I made shrimp to go with it and crusty bread. A meal made in heaven. Thank you for posting the recipe. Made for ZWT4 for the Chic Chefs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda June 06, 2008
Divinely Creamy Low-Fat Fettuccine Alfredo