15 Reviews

These were good, if a little plain. I made them and ran out of the house, so when I came back, I 'fixed' them up a little. They make a great base. I added some black cherry jam, and topped with a cream cheese frosting. I fixed one for DS by frosting with peanut butter and topping with pieces of a Hershey's bar. He just loved it! Thanks for sharing, Deantini.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl October 03, 2011

These are sweet vanilla cupcakes! They have such a nice light texture and baked perfectly in 25 minutes in my oven. I enjoyed the overall flavor of these gems and so did the family at our Easter gathering. I did reduce the sugar by a 1/2 cup due to some dietary needs and because I was going to frost all of these for the party. Very tasty and simple to make! Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 04, 2010

These little morsels are very fluffy and soft. The dough is easy to work with and they bake up perfectly. The vanilla aroma is sublte, but very nice. Like Iceland I reduced the sugar quite a bit and the cupcakes were still sweet and yummy. All in all a very nice cupcake, but somehow not exactly what I was hoping for. Even though I already decreased the butter to just a little over 1/3 cup, these still had a very buttery taste. I dont quite know why, but they seemed greasy. I dont like too much of a butter taste, so unfortunately I didnt like these as much as I had thought I would. Maybe next time Ill reduce the butter even further and use applesauce in its place to add a fruity note or sub in vanilla yoghurt or something. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing your recipe with us, Deantini! Made and reviewed for Went To The Market Tag Game September 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 16, 2009

This recipe makes really good cupcakes although I did follow the suggestions of other reviewers. 1 cup of sugar is plenty even if you don't plan to use frosting, and if you are going to frost these, definitely don't use the full 1 1/2 cups. I also doubled the vanilla and I think if you used just what was called for, it probably wouldn't have as much flavor. The texture was crumbly but not too much so and they were quite moist and just dense enough to be satisfying but not so dense that they were too heavy. Even my daughter, who is a chocoholic and doesn't get excited about vanilla anything, gave them a major thumbs up. Plus, what I really liked is that they had a great texture on the outside that made them a breeze to frost. This made 20 cupcakes that went just to the top of the muffin cup. If you want really big cupcakes, it will probably only make about 14 or so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel L March 16, 2014

I have never baked a vanilla cupcake, I've always done Guinness cupcakes or "pecan pie" cupcakes, never something "plain" like vanilla. So this is my first vanilla cupcake venture. I added one tablespoon of cornstarch and increased the vanilla extract to one tablespoon and....I really have no quibbles at all with them. Supremely good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pseudobritchick October 25, 2013

Overall very good, though slightly chewy compared to other cupcakes. I don't know why though, followed the recipe right down the line. Tonight was my night to volunteer at the hospital, and the nurse, and the rest of us on the 2nd floor enjoyed these. Mixed reactions, some loved these, along with the frosting, while others said they were chewy, though we had these gone in no tine. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker April 18, 2013

This is the first time I've made cupcakes and it was very easy but I had to use mini cupcake pans and they turned out kinda gelatinous... They still taste pretty great though! I used this recipe for my frosting; http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,166,150190-244203,00.html

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenfrosting January 25, 2013

These fluffed up well which is good in a cupcake. It was not dense either which is a problem I have had with previous recipes. I made them with the kids and they liked them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms November 25, 2012

These were pretty good. They had a somewhat spongy texture and a mild flavor. I think they'd make great Boston cream pie cupcakes if you made them with half the batter per cup, sandwiched pudding between them, and frosted them with a chocolate glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire November 16, 2012

Wow, these really are divine tasting cupcakes Deantini. They were quick and easy to make with terrific results. The flavor and texture of these big, semi dense, tender cupcakes is out of this world good. We found them just sweet enough, I should add that I was out of vanilla extract, so I used the little that I had and added 1/2 of a vanilla bean to the mix. I didn't have any muffin liners so I didn't use them. Made half the recipe and got 6 jumbo cupcakes that I cooked for 25 minutes in my convection oven. I garnished these babies with simple whipped cream for an unforgettable dessert. My neighbor even came over to see if I had any more, he enjoyed them very much also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 17, 2012
Divine Vanilla Cupcakes