Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Divine Semolina Dessert - Suji Halva Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Divine Semolina Dessert - Suji Halva

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2011

      We liked this dessert very much and my children were fighting for the last spoons!
      I never had hot sweet semolina in this way and I liked the saffron and cardamon combination.
      Thanks for the recipe.
      Done for PAC Spring 2011

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Delicious!!! Just like I love it! We dont have semolina choices here, so I used 10 min Cream of Wheat...it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      I've made almost the same recipe as this, but with milk instead of water. It is the more traditional way of making it in India.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Although I liked the touch of cardamom, I found this pudding to be much too sweet. I can't seem to find the old Hare Krishna recipe I used to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I am asian of Indian descent. I think I mixed this recipe up with another because this one turned out so much sweeter than I expected. Too sweet, if I were to repeat I would deffinitely put at least half the sugar.

      Thankyou for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      I really liked this. It was so toasty-tasting and not too sweet. Very easy to make too. I used coarse semolina couscous. The saffron, cardamom, and almonds were lovely. What a great combination of flavors that melded so perfectly. Made for "More Than Just Curries" tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I was addicted to this dessert when living in Brisbane just down the road from the Hare Krishna cafe and now I have found the recipe - Nivarna!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This semolina halva has lovely buttery and cardamom flavor. Previous reviewer had good comment about pressing leftovers in pan to cut in slices and eat when cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      this was delicious! I skipped the saffron cause didn't have any although I will use it next time. I also added 1 1/2tsp of vanilla essence and 1 tsp of rosewater. It's nice that it had no dairy. Something else I will be doing next time is pressing the leftovers while still warm into a dish to cut into pieces once it cools. It sets quite firm and reminds me of a semolina slice my grandmother used to make. The only problem with this recipe was the instructions. They are set out terribly and made it quite frustrating to follow. cheers for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Yum! I use soft brown sugar instead of regular sugar and it makes this amazingly sweet but very very very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      I am nuts over this dessert, it's awesome. I used clarified butter which made the recipe even more unforgiving on my waistline I suppose, but it was worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Divine Semolina Dessert - Suji Halva

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.0
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    38%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 50.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 7.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.6 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 47.2 g
    188%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites