13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We liked this dessert very much and my children were fighting for the last spoons!
I never had hot sweet semolina in this way and I liked the saffron and cardamon combination.
Thanks for the recipe.
Done for PAC Spring 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde February 28, 2011

Delicious!!! Just like I love it! We dont have semolina choices here, so I used 10 min Cream of Wheat...it was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacquelineS October 23, 2005

Always used to buy this when the Hare Krishna's did a cheap meal every Thursday at university. This recipe brought back so many memories! I didn't have any almonds or sultanas, so used chopped peanuts and currants instead. Realized I didn't have ground cardamon half way through so used cardamon seeds. Lovely pops of flavor all the way through. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelifeitsfun February 04, 2015

I've made almost the same recipe as this, but with milk instead of water. It is the more traditional way of making it in India.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mohamjip June 14, 2013

Although I liked the touch of cardamom, I found this pudding to be much too sweet. I can't seem to find the old Hare Krishna recipe I used to use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vsokolova February 23, 2013

I am asian of Indian descent. I think I mixed this recipe up with another because this one turned out so much sweeter than I expected. Too sweet, if I were to repeat I would deffinitely put at least half the sugar.

Thankyou for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zahraghazi1400 October 02, 2010

I really liked this. It was so toasty-tasting and not too sweet. Very easy to make too. I used coarse semolina couscous. The saffron, cardamom, and almonds were lovely. What a great combination of flavors that melded so perfectly. Made for "More Than Just Curries" tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 March 22, 2010

I was addicted to this dessert when living in Brisbane just down the road from the Hare Krishna cafe and now I have found the recipe - Nivarna!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coasty March 21, 2010

This semolina halva has lovely buttery and cardamom flavor. Previous reviewer had good comment about pressing leftovers in pan to cut in slices and eat when cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 13, 2010

5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yousfani64 January 30, 2010
Divine Semolina Dessert - Suji Halva