Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Divine Meatball Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Divine Meatball Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2008

      A messy treat! We used turkey meatballs and a fresh baked french loaf. Next time I would spread the cut-sides of the bread with the cream cheese mixture & cheese and broil until melted and lightly brown, THEN add the meatballs & sauce. Assembling the whole sandwich and baking as written made the outside of the bread a little too crunchy. We will also add crushed red pepper & a zippier sauce next time. A nice meatball sandwich that appeals to adults & kids alike.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      You weren't kidding when you said that the spread sets these incredible sandwiches apart. Hands down the best sandwiches I have ever had. I used Kaiser rolls instead of the suggested buns, and it turned out great. I had leftover spread as I was only feeding two people, and mixed that, the leftover meatballs and sauce, and leftover cheese together, and it made a great qucik lunch the next day.

      Fantastic recipe, sure to be an instant classic in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      My husband and I enjoyed these. They were a great comfort food for tonights cold winter weather. I debated about what kind of bread to use and ended up getting the bakery made, Italian bread. It was much too thick to eat as a closed sandwich so I left them open faced and we ate them with forks. I asked him if it would be better on sub bread that could be eaten by hand. In the end, we decided we liked it open face. The flavor was great; we loved the spread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      My husband said it was the best meatball sandwich he had ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      I loved this recipe! It was so addictive. I loved how easy it was to make. Had so much flavor. Great job on this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      My husband, 6 year old, and 4 year old all give it lots of thumbs and toes and fingers up! Very good! I used turkey meatballs, Ragu low sugar sauce, 1/2 the mayo called for, fat free cream cheese, real garlic (minced) because I didn't have any granulated, and 1/2 the cheese (all in an effort to make it "not so bad") and it was DELISH! If I could get away with it, I could serve this weekly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Fabulous! The best meatball sandwich I've ever made (or eaten!) I had some 6" Bolillo rolls and Parmesan Meatballs dunked in Quick and Easy Spaghetti/Marinara Sauce. Made half the amount of cream cheese mixture (using light mayo and Neufchatel cheese) and it was enough for four 6" sandwiches. The only change I made was using sliced provolone instead of shredded mozzarella. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      OMG! what a messy, yummy mess of a sandwich! It hit all the notes for me. The bread was a little crunchy, the cream cheese and mozzarella was creamy-licious, the meatballs and marinara savory! I added a little fresh basil and parsley from my garden and these sandwiches were a great hit. So easy, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I turned this vegetarian by using Trader Joe's meatless meatballs. Total success! Very delicious, rich and filling recipe. I've never made meatball subs before and I'm glad I did. I will be passing this one on to friends and fam.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Outstanding!! The cream cheese mixture made it so creamy and SO yummy!! A definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Everyone is right when they say the spread is what makes this so special, or divine as the title says. I've never liked meatball sandwiches before, but this recipe changed all that. I have tried it as written and also with low-fat cream cheese and low-fat mayo. They both taste the same and so I will be making this the low-fat version from now on. I will be using a different bread as the Italian bread that I used was way too thick. It was hard to take a bite and the meatballs went sliding out of the sandwich. Thanks for sharing this special sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Great spread. The sub was just wonderful. I used low fat mayo and cream cheese and it was still great. It's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      My family raves over these sandwiches! A sure messy delicious sandwich! Although I make my own meatballs and use Italian loaf bread from our commissary (military grocery store) the product is pure deliciousness! This is what my husband requests when he comes back from being downrange (deployed)! His first home-cooked meal is this! So we love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      Excellent! I made the meatballs by mixing Jimmy Deans sage sausage, ground sirloin, egg, garlic, bread crumbs & mayo. After browning, I added them to a couple jars of variety spaghetti sauce in the crock pot. Next day at work, I made the spread & put on steak rolls, built the subs and melted the cheese in the microwave. Even the brattiest guy asked the next day for leftovers. I heard him bragging to someone about the meatball sub. It was awesome! Thanks for the great idea & super recipe - the spread is what carries it over the top!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      My family loved it. I used individual sub rolls and it was great!....The spread really does give it "a little something different." Great for a cold Sunday afternoon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      I just finished preparing and eating these sandwiches. Made with meatball Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs. My daughter loved the addition of the cream cheese mixture. I, on the other hand, couldn't really taste it. May be that I didn't spread on enough?? I have a lot of it left over. Now to find another use for it, becasue I hate waste. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      Proud to be review 101 for this delicious meatball sandwich recipe. As the previous posters have said, the sauce makes this recipe. The spread is creamy, flavorful and glues the sandwich together. This sandwich is super messy but tasty. Grab the paper towel roll and dig in. Used bakery fresh baked soft bread and made as written. Next time we will add another dash of garlic powder. Kids and adults loved it. Perfect for a dinner or a party. Thanks for posting Jamie Renee. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      DH & DS loved the cream cheese spread. Unfortunately, though, this was about all my family liked about this dish. The good news is that it was not the recipe/submitter's fault, We purchased a bag of pre-made meatballs that just didn't meet our expectations. I would be very open to making this again, but with homemade meatballs. In the meantime, we look forward to giving this recipe another go in the future. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      I can't believe I forgot to review this! I have made this many times and it is ALWAYS a crowd pleaser! Before you have a heart attack at the calories, realize that it serves 4-5 people (stuffed) so should be a lot less than what is listed. =) Thanks for this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      it was so divine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Divine Meatball Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (1601 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1955.7
     
    Calories from Fat 898
    45%
    Total Fat 99.8 g
    153%
    Saturated Fat 43.6 g
    218%
    Cholesterol 233.0 mg
    77%
    Sodium 4118.5 mg
    171%
    Total Carbohydrate 201.1 g
    67%
    Dietary Fiber 13.8 g
    55%
    Sugars 30.0 g
    120%
    Protein 62.4 g
    124%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen meatballs

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites