Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Disney's French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Disney's French Toast

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2003

      This is not my usual milk/eggs french toast! It is so much better! The batter makes a nice crispy coating on the bread and lends a nice texture and flavor. I used stale regular bread that was going to waste. I halved the recipe and still had batter after 10 slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      I am actually rating this recipe on behalf of my 11 yr old daughter who made this for breakfast today. And we all agree that is was great french toast. She may have to set up her own cookbook because mom is always sending her recipes and glad to see her trying them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      No need for syrup, honey, fruit or any other adornments on this French Toast! It is wonderful just the way it is. I halved the recipe for my family. (only 3 of us). The only other change I made was to use confectioner's sugar and cinnamon for the topping. Very nice recipe, Ridgley. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      Delicious,Excellent! This recipe is just what I have been looking for. I halved the recipe, used splenda instead of sugar. Also used Geema's whole wheat apple cinnamon bread, Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Bread - Bread Machine. Thank you, this will be my french toast recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      This is the best! I will be making this again, but will half the batter because I had more than I needed for a loaf of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      Excellent! I made this for my family for breakfast and wow did I get a response from it! We've never had french toast like this before. Frying it in a batter that tastes a little like a sugar cookie with the cinnamon sugar on top. The aroma was wonderful! Never will french toast be the same in our house. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I halved the recipe and it turned out great! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      We enjoyed this, but we have finally gotten accustomed to making french toast in a non-stick skillet so we could cut down on the oil/butter for frying - can't do that with this recipe. It was good, but we are going back to DH's recipe. However I did promise DS we could do this one every once in awhile. The flavor was good, the instructions were good, we just are trying to cut down on how much we fry in oil/butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      This is amazing french toast. I saw a tutorial by Alton Brown, host of "Good Eats". for french toast and implementing some of his techniques. He suggestions to make the custard at least 8 hours ahead and refrigerate. Make sure to dry out the bread ahead of time. When ready to eat, pour the custard into a shallow dish. Let bread sit in the custard for 30 seconds (no more, no less) on each side then let rest for two minutes on cooling rack over a cookie sheet. Swirl butter in non-stick pan instead of using oil. Once brown place the french toast on a cooling rack (this allows the french toast to stay crisp). Bake in a 375 degree oven for 5 minutes. Before serving, while still warm, I sprinkled the cinnamon sugar on the french toast and served with maple syrup. My mouth is salivating just thinking of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I actually cut the bread into strips before dipping it into the batter & frying it. My husband said they were as good as the French Toastix you buy. (But better b/c they cost less!) They're best right when you cook them, but they're not bad out of the freezer, either. I like having something he can grab for a quick breakfast in the morning. Still very bad for you, but my husband's the thin kind that can eat anything.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      Wonderful! Go ahead and make the whole batch, you'll be happy to have some to freeze for later. Hint, if you have cinnamon sugar already handy, just use that to save a step in the coating. A keeper! TY

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2014

      Simply adored this recipe for breakfast!! Since I'm a student and stay with room-mates..Learning and making this was fun and incredible...! Evry1 loved it! Thanx for sharing! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      This is a more than five stars from among five star regular French toast recipes. It is that good! The family loves French toast and we have made and reviewed many recipes but this is the best standard French toast we have tasted. The flour and baking powder add a great firm texture too on the outside while keeping the inside soft. The more milk less eggs made for no sogginess. I used a griddle with vegetable oil put on blotted off so no greasiness here at all. This recipe makes a ton of cinnamon sugar topping. It was gone all of it in a flash. No time to take a photo, no leftovers and immediate cries for when can we have it again. It is sweet, highly caloric and best left for special occasions but when you make it all you will here is oohs and aahs. Best of the best for sure. Thanks for posting! Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      What an awesome alternative to the regular French Toast dish! I used sunflower and coconut oil for a lighter taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      Delicious! My kids said it was like eating a yummy cinnamon roll, but as french toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      perfect for a guy working outside made for sweet dreams ,yes this has baking powder lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      My daughter thought this recipe was awesome! I did not use the oil, instead I followed Winterstar's suggestion to cut down on the fat and it was sooo delicious!! She liked that because the cinnamon/sugar was on the outside she could taste the cinnamon with every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      This is a different way to do French toast - tasty! The liquid mixture was the perfect amount for the whole loaf of bread but I only used about half of the cinnamon-sugar mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      This was really good. The kids helped me make them. The amount of batter was perfect for one whole loaf of Texas Toast slices. We made 4 whole slices then cut each slice into 3 sticks to coat and cook. Filled up a gallon bag with leftovers that the kids will enjoy before school. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      I made this recipe this morning and I have to say it deserves much more then 5 stars. Its definitely hands down the best french toast I have ever ate. It will be a regular breakfast in my home and a staple in my freezer! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Disney's French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.0
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    15%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 73.3 mg
    24%
    Sodium 409.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 30.3 g
    121%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Texas toast thick bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites