70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is not my usual milk/eggs french toast! It is so much better! The batter makes a nice crispy coating on the bread and lends a nice texture and flavor. I used stale regular bread that was going to waste. I halved the recipe and still had batter after 10 slices.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princess buttercup February 07, 2003

I am actually rating this recipe on behalf of my 11 yr old daughter who made this for breakfast today. And we all agree that is was great french toast. She may have to set up her own cookbook because mom is always sending her recipes and glad to see her trying them.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 05, 2003

No need for syrup, honey, fruit or any other adornments on this French Toast! It is wonderful just the way it is. I halved the recipe for my family. (only 3 of us). The only other change I made was to use confectioner's sugar and cinnamon for the topping. Very nice recipe, Ridgley. Thanks for sharing!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas April 05, 2003

Delicious,Excellent! This recipe is just what I have been looking for. I halved the recipe, used splenda instead of sugar. Also used Geema's whole wheat apple cinnamon bread, Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Bread - Bread Machine. Thank you, this will be my french toast recipe from now on.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz April 03, 2003

This is the best! I will be making this again, but will half the batter because I had more than I needed for a loaf of bread.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelley fulton February 23, 2003

Excellent! I made this for my family for breakfast and wow did I get a response from it! We've never had french toast like this before. Frying it in a batter that tastes a little like a sugar cookie with the cinnamon sugar on top. The aroma was wonderful! Never will french toast be the same in our house. THANKS!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow February 03, 2003

I halved the recipe and it turned out great! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Plate July 04, 2010

We enjoyed this, but we have finally gotten accustomed to making french toast in a non-stick skillet so we could cut down on the oil/butter for frying - can't do that with this recipe. It was good, but we are going back to DH's recipe. However I did promise DS we could do this one every once in awhile. The flavor was good, the instructions were good, we just are trying to cut down on how much we fry in oil/butter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley2 April 29, 2003

This is amazing french toast. I saw a tutorial by Alton Brown, host of "Good Eats". for french toast and implementing some of his techniques. He suggestions to make the custard at least 8 hours ahead and refrigerate. Make sure to dry out the bread ahead of time. When ready to eat, pour the custard into a shallow dish. Let bread sit in the custard for 30 seconds (no more, no less) on each side then let rest for two minutes on cooling rack over a cookie sheet. Swirl butter in non-stick pan instead of using oil. Once brown place the french toast on a cooling rack (this allows the french toast to stay crisp). Bake in a 375 degree oven for 5 minutes. Before serving, while still warm, I sprinkled the cinnamon sugar on the french toast and served with maple syrup. My mouth is salivating just thinking of them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winterstar June 25, 2012

I actually cut the bread into strips before dipping it into the batter & frying it. My husband said they were as good as the French Toastix you buy. (But better b/c they cost less!) They're best right when you cook them, but they're not bad out of the freezer, either. I like having something he can grab for a quick breakfast in the morning. Still very bad for you, but my husband's the thin kind that can eat anything.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareBearQ September 18, 2009
Disney's French Toast