Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dishwasher Soap Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dishwasher Soap

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2009

      This didn't cause any build up in our dish washer! All cascade dish soap leaves a thick coat of powdery white, but this soap kept everything nice and clean! Wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This works great. It is cheaper and gets my dishes cleaner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      I used plain borax in a pinch, and dishes came out fine. I still bought Cascade, for greasy dishes, but for plates and glasses only, just borax works fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      works great I found this a couple of weeks ago on another site and thought about looking up here today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      So far, so good!! Now just have fun finding Borax! Took me a few stores, but got one last box at Super T. If it works on pots and pans, I'll come back to give it a 5! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      We've been using your dishwasher soap recipe for over a year now. Thank you for all the $$$ we've saved, and for the help to the environment. (We've also used Arm & Hammer Washing Soda when the store was out of Borax.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

    • on August 09, 2007

      I tried so hard to make this work, because it's so economical. Despite trying different amounts in loads, vinegar in the rinse, and using it half and half with a commercial dishwashing detergent, it seemed to leave my dishes dirtier than when they went into the wash. It's taken me ages to scrub the film off of them. :( I suspect that my very hard well water doesn't lend itself to this mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I love this recipe, just tried it, recently. I also put in an equal amount of Tang. Got the recipe off another site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Thanks for the great idea! I still use detergent, but alot less. I put this in the prewash, half the cascade in the wash, and rinse with vinager. Sqeaky clean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This recipe worked for my mom, but not for me. It left my dishes covered in a film that had to washed off by hand. I think maybe it's because we have hard water with lots of minerals and somehow this didn't mix well with the borax- my mom's is softer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      My friend and I tried this recipe and we have both found out that if you have a film on your dishes you need to cut back on the amount you use. I started with 2 teaspoons and it works great. I will never buy commercial soap agian. I still use a rinse agent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Great, this is a lifesaver. I have been looking for a recipe like this and using it consistantly since I found it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      I really, really wanted this to work, but unfortunately it didn't. Everything had a cloudy film on it. I tried it with really dirty and well rinsed dishes but it just didn't clean nicely - even w/a rinse aid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Love it.... i own a dishwasher but mainly do my dishes by hand..call me old fashioned & use the dishwasher to air dry the dishes. ... but i do use it occasionly when sick or when i thouroughly clean the house & have no time to hand wash... but this is alot more cheaper & does what i think better than store bought... i have a container that i mixed a realy big batch up that way i never forget to have some on hand & use vinegar... the dishes come out ..sparkling & smell clean ..thanks for sharing..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      this didn't get my dishes clean- plus it left a film on them that i'm still trying to get off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      Didnt work for me. Sorry. Left stuff all over my dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      I made this the other day when I somehow managed to run out of dishwasher liquid and didn't know it. Worked wonderfully, I think it worked better than the store bought stuff. We also have hard water so I took your advice on the vinegar, also. Thanks millions

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This stuff works GREAT! I ran out of Cascade, and just hoped I would find something here. I actually opted to just toss the mixture over the dishes instead of using the dispenser, in doing this I had no prolems with it not rinsing off. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      This worked out fine for me. My dishes came out fine. I could get used to using this! I might go ahead and just add it along with my regular detergent, to give it a boost. Thanks for posting! Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dishwasher Soap

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites