Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Disappearing Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Disappearing Sweet Potato Muffins

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2009

      Made these replacing applesauce for the oil, egg whites for the eggs, whole wheat flour for the white flour and agave nectar(1 cup) in place of the brown sugar. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      The flavor was wonderful, but the did not rise properly. If they had been less dense, they would have been perfect. My baking powder has been working fine, so the only thing I can think of going wrong was it was quite humid (I have noticed things do not rise as well when that is the case). Will try again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Loved these! I had about 3-5 lbs of potatoes, which I grated coarsely, and ended up doing a triple batch of muffins, so it took about 1+ lb of sweet potato per batch. The triple batch made 3 dz regular muffins plus 2-4 dz mini muffins, and I filled the cups to the rims. They were moist, dense, and kept a few days. I used all applesauce instead of oil, and used 1 c of wheat flour (because I forgot I was going to use wheat until I was almost done measuring). Put almonds and raisins in the last 2/3 of the muffins, and I actually preferred them without raisins because I'm not super fond of raisins, but everyone else liked them in. I think chocolate chips would be really good. They popped right out of my greased silicone muffin pans nicely. I didn't think they were too sweet, just right.<br/>Update: I forgot to mention that I don't peel my sweet potatoes, only wash them and cut off bad spots. I also tried with 1/2 wheat flour, almonds and milk chocolate chips with good results. Update #2 - I quadrupled the batch today - but a 15 oz can of applesauce is only 1 1/2 cups, so I had to add some oil. I didn't put any add-ins (no nuts, raisins, coconut, or chocolate chips), and i think it needed some. They were still good, but a little something extra to break it up would have been better. Got 5 dozen regular and about 20 mini muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Nice for using up some giant sweet potato from the garden! Sometimes I have roasted sweet potato on hand, but this is nice and quick if you don't have any precooked on hand.

      I used only 1/2 c sugar, and I tossed in some chocolate chips (a handful--maybe half a cup) instead of nuts and raisins. My daughter who hates sweet potatoes liked them.

      Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      These muffins are very moist and tasty. The cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla come through nicely and make the muffins special. I really liked the ease of preparation due to the sweet potato being raw and grated instead of cooked and mashed.
      I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, which was plenty for me and included 1/4 nuts and 1/4 raisins. To me these add ins really made the muffins, so Ill make sure to add them again next time Im making these.
      All in all a good muffin recipe that we enjoyed.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it here with us, Candy.
      Made and reviewed on Recommendation of free-free October 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      We have made them a few times now and they're great hot or cold. Everyone loves them including myself... and I don't like sweet potatoes:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

    • on July 11, 2008

      Really really good!!! Surprising that my kids liked them, cuz they don't like sweet potatoes! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Oh yeah!!! These were fabulous! I couldn't find the brown sugar, so I used white & I stopped at 1c. Thank God for the invention called a food processor - those sweet potatoes were shredded in seconds! I used 2 medium for 4c. I did add raisins but not walnuts. Also, I used 1c whole wheat flour & 1c ap flour.Mom was so happy, she took a bunch to her nurses, lol. I think my muffin tins were smaller than some, because I got 24 (small) muffins. Thanks! Made for ZWT4 Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Made these for my sister to take to work. The word is "send more." Used raisins in half the batter as I'm not a great raisin lover, but think the raisins add just that extra sweetness needed. Made 2 batches and threw 1 batch into the freezer for quick breakfast treats to go with our morning smoothies. Thnx for posting, Tom & Candy. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Did my usual thing when it comes to working with sweet potatoes ~ Left them unpeeled & shredded them that way, since I appreciate the additional nutrients provided by the peel! That said, I did follow the ingredients & directions & came away with a WONDERFUL TASTING MUFFIN TREAT! Raisins are never really optional for me so in they went, along with the nuts! Thanks for your keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed in the Family Picks part of the Zaar World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Fantastic! I made these with the optional raisins and walnuts but without the allspice due to an allergy. They are very tasty and we loved them warm. Made for ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I just removed these from the oven and had to try one, as that when a muffin is best to me. They are yummy! I shredded with my kitchen aid attachment, next time I might by hand as I think the KA shredder attachment gives a different textured shred and I think I like hand shredded best. I used golden raisins and tossed in 1/8 c of pecans, left out the walnuts. I am glad I chose this recipe for the Eastern European Bread challenge for ZWT 4. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Very good, fast and easy to make! This is going into my favorites folder. This recipe made 15 muffins for me. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I do not know what to say, these blew us away. We did not expect for them to come out this good! I chose to make them for a snack after dinner and could not have chosen a better recipe to make. Can't wait to share this recipe with my family. Tonight I chose to add almonds to ours and was thinking of adding coconut along with almonds the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This muffin is GREAT! I found them a bit sweet and intend it cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and I make them gluten free but the taste is fantastic and I love getting healthy sweet potato into my family. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      These muffins are great! I've made this recipe about 4 times since finding it - it comes out perfectly every time. I've reduced the brown sugar a couple of times and it's still a great recipe. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and used part applesauce/part oil. Great recipe, wonderful baking aroma and excellent flavor. Also an excellent freezer muffin. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      OMGosh GOOD!!! ...The chunkier the potato is in this the better it was for me (Yummy)...I made the full fat version which was delish but something I can only treat myself to every so often...they "lighten up" nicely and equally delicious with substitutions of whole wheat pastry flour, applesauce, egg-beaters and brown sugar Splenda blend...I like the full fat version for The Thanksgiving Holiday weekend...when all "dieting" guide lines are loosened up a bit :) Great with cranberry and pecans too... SOOO GOOD - THANKS for a great recipe Tom&Candy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I really like these (and so did my kids). I made one change: 1/4 c. oil and 1/4 c. applesauce instead of 1/2 c. oil. They still turned out really really good. I think I will try reducing the sugar a little bit next time, as they were pretty sweet (which is never a complaint you'll hear from me!) and could maybe save a little on calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Exceptionally good muffins !!! Not too sweet but just enough overtone of spices to give it a warm "hearty" feeling in your tummy ! The title says it all :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Disappearing Sweet Potato Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1450 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.3
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    32%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 35.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 202.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 21.9 g
    87%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites