14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So simple to throw together and just plain delicious! I see this recipe shooting to the top of the chicken recipes in no time! Give it a try, you won't be disappointed! Served it up with Pot Scrubber's Mexican Rice and wowwy was it perfection in Mexican flavors!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitchWay June 03, 2009

What an aptly named dish..this disappeared faster than you can say Abracadabra.
Very simple to throw together and totally delicious, this went down a storm with our friends, piled up on tortilla chips and served with cold beers...a perfect union!
A fabulous dish, that's going to become a regular feature around here for sure!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo August 24, 2011

Disappear is the right word given to this recipe. Disappear from the plate is more like it :) I followed this exactly~except for two small exceptions which, didn't make any difference of taste. (which was fall over and faint from tasting this wonderful dish!) One) ~ used already roasted chicken, just had extra and shredded from yesterday's dinner. Two) I used chopped jalapenos (fresh) because I forgot the chilies. This was wonderful on all accounts, and hopefully we will have enough for tomorrows Ravens football game..Thank you CoffeeB! Made for *123 Wonders* Tag Game, January 2009.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 09, 2009

So...I have had the delight of making this THREE times for the Photo Tag game because it kept DISAPPEARING before I could take a picture! Each time I made half recipes in a square baking pan and it took 30-35 minutes to cook. Although I substituted light ingredients, this is quite filling and a full recipe would serve 12 people. I took it to a girls' event and my husband took it to a guys' event and it was loved by all! It is a "safe" recipe that everyone will like-if I made it again for an adventurous group, I'd try adding chili powder and cumin or a packet of taco seasoning. By the way, we also took JenniferK2's suggestion and slathered this on flour tortillas and grilled in the panini maker; the resulting quesadillas were WONDERFUL...highly recommended!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen May 14, 2008

This would be a perfect dip for a football game as posted! Tonight, I made half as posted, and I added a bit of cooked rice to the rest and then sprinkled with buttered ritz crackers and made a decadent dinner. Taking the "dip" portion to work tomorrow to share with co-workers. They will love this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 13, 2012

I was expecting 5 stars from my three reviewers, but instead, I'll take their cumulative 30!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 06, 2012

Yup, it's gone! This was a great, simple way to prepare it! I used light versions of everything and it came out wonderfully. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt (personal preference). Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 15, 2010

This is very, very delicious. I halved the recipe since it is just my hubby and myself. I baked it in a glass pie dish - served with tortilla chips, refried beans, and Mexican rice. It is extremely filling. I think for a get together, I'd like to serve this with mini bell peppers, seeded and halved, as dippers or along with tortilla chips or as a way of serving this wonderful stuff. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa November 18, 2009

Yummy lunch for me today and leftovers for the games this weekend. I made this using leftover fried chicken that I shredded so it was also quick and easy. I can also seek making this with seasoned, drained ground beef and onions. Thanks for sharing this great snack. Made for holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 12, 2009

Yummy! This is called disappearing chicken because it's so good you'll be hiding it from everyone so you can have it all to yourself. I served it for lunch over garlic toasts. We loved it! Thanks Coffee! Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night July 19, 2009
Disappearing Chicken