177 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were fantastic! My family doesn't like a lot of spice, so we left out some of the cayenne, and garlic, and they still had lots of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Canuck January 01, 2009

Made this AGAIN last night and the ratings are right, it was fantastic. (My only regret was no doubling the sauce-first review). Made it again tonight and tripled everything but the shrimp. Also we are spoiled with just right cooked shrimp. So before adding the beer or broth, remove the shrimp and cover to keep warm. Pour in beer or broth and reduce a little to thicken. But make lots, you will want to soak up every drop of the sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri at the Beach December 30, 2008

This was a super-quick and easy dish to make, I loved it! I substituted paprika for the cayenne peppers because my family can't take spicy foods, but it was still great and the sauce was amazing to dip french bread in! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagnoliaJoyRose December 21, 2008

I think this had really great flavor.. The overall concensus of last nite's recipients was to leave out the crushed red pepper flakes.. Other than that, it was awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora December 13, 2008

It was fast, easy and delicious! Got rave reviews from my boyfriend. We used cooked and peeled shrimp from the freezer and just let them heat up in the beer. Great flavor in under 15 minutes. We're going to try it next time with white wine instead of the beer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleydwilliams December 01, 2008

Very spicy but I loved it! I served it over leftover brown rice. I doubled the sauce, use light margarine, and omitted the salt. If you cook the shrimp until pink and done and then simmer for an additional minute, the shrimp will be overcooked and rubbery. So, my shrimp was just becoming pink when I added the beer, covered the simmered for a minute. The shrimp was perfect! A definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLions November 16, 2008

I'll try this one again sometime but the first time I made it was waaay too spicy for myself. The BF loved it though. I had cut down the cayenne and doubled the sauce like others suggested, but perhaps for us weenies I'll just add a dash of cayenne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim & Jess November 08, 2008

Really delicious dish! I doubled the sauce as suggested by others and also left out the thyme because we don't like it. I had some extra bacon in the frige so I chopped that up and fried it before I followed the other directions. My 2-year old twin granddaughters dipped tortilla chips in the broth and LOVED it even though I thought it might be too spicy for them but it was nbot. This is so easy too that we will have it often. Next time I will serve this over pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks October 16, 2008

This was good, but I have other shrimp recipes that my family likes better that are just as easy to make, so I'll probably stick with those. It made for a good supper, but I don't think I'll make it again. It was nice to try for something different, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen October 11, 2008

I made this wine cooking wine instead of beer. I had the beer poured ready to go in and I backed out at the last minute. I had a pale ale on hand and after a long day just didn't want to take a chance when I knew wine would be perfect. We really enjoyed this. Added double wine and double butter to serve over pasta. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie1351 August 27, 2008
Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce