178 Reviews

Forgot to add the 5 stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TressaJo March 01, 2014

This is really tasty and really easy to make. I doubled the sauce but kept all ingredients as stated. I did not find it too spicy nor did my kids. Will definitely make again when splurging on a buttery recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyTriestoCook February 04, 2014

Love the shrimp. So good. I made it with a creamy tomato pasta. My hubby loved it. But be careful can get really spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lora and Mathew Hahn September 23, 2013

To start with, I do not eat shrimp. So why make this recipe? Well, when I read the ingredients for the sauce DH said that it would be nice to try with codfish. OK, tried that and it was a hit. Made just as stated (with the codfish instead of shrimp) with the exception of, as another reviewer suggested, decreasing the cayenne pepper to just 1/4 teaspoon and it was plenty. Next time I will also decrease the thyme to 3/4 teaspoon as it was a little overpowering. We had enough sauce to save for the next day when we tossed it with spaghetti. Delicious! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo August 18, 2013

Delicious, favorite part was the sauce!!! I cut back a little on the heat and served it over egg noodles. Hubby was not a fan of the dried herbs so, I will make it with ground herbs next time. And I agree, make extra sauce, you will be so glad you did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dunmar319 August 12, 2013

Loved this! Made exactly as written except I did cut down on both the cayenne and the crushed red pepper. I used 3/4 lb of shrimp because there were only 2 of us but kept the rest the same so we'd have lots of that delicious juice. Dumped it over bowtie noodles with steamed broccoli as the veg. Quick, easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen0862 June 13, 2013

We really liked this but I did make some changes. With reading the other reviews I did double the sauce but wasn't sure if I really needed too. I used Italian seasoning instead of oregano, basil and thyme as that is all I had. I also used old bay instead of the cayenne and red pepper flakes. I forgot to double the salt and pepper. I ate some on brown rice but everyone else ate them plain. We all really enjoyed these with the changes made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 21, 2013

I made this last night served over brown rice. By following others, I doubled the sauce recipe, and should have served it over pasta. I added extra garlic, as we like to actually be able to taste the garlic, especially in a butter sauce with shrimp!<br/><br/>I have to agree with others here, it was smelling AWESOME until the beer. I removed the shrimp while trying to simmer for "another minute" after adding the beer. I was quite worried they would over cook and become rubbery. I'm glad I did, because the 'sauce' was way too thin, and I had to thicken it with just a bit of cornstarch. <br/><br/>Overall, a great tasting dish, with my additions.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mincin' maggie April 19, 2013
Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce