Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2009

      These were fantastic! My family doesn't like a lot of spice, so we left out some of the cayenne, and garlic, and they still had lots of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Made this AGAIN last night and the ratings are right, it was fantastic. (My only regret was no doubling the sauce-first review). Made it again tonight and tripled everything but the shrimp. Also we are spoiled with just right cooked shrimp. So before adding the beer or broth, remove the shrimp and cover to keep warm. Pour in beer or broth and reduce a little to thicken. But make lots, you will want to soak up every drop of the sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This was a super-quick and easy dish to make, I loved it! I substituted paprika for the cayenne peppers because my family can't take spicy foods, but it was still great and the sauce was amazing to dip french bread in! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I think this had really great flavor.. The overall concensus of last nite's recipients was to leave out the crushed red pepper flakes.. Other than that, it was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      It was fast, easy and delicious! Got rave reviews from my boyfriend. We used cooked and peeled shrimp from the freezer and just let them heat up in the beer. Great flavor in under 15 minutes. We're going to try it next time with white wine instead of the beer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Very spicy but I loved it! I served it over leftover brown rice. I doubled the sauce, use light margarine, and omitted the salt. If you cook the shrimp until pink and done and then simmer for an additional minute, the shrimp will be overcooked and rubbery. So, my shrimp was just becoming pink when I added the beer, covered the simmered for a minute. The shrimp was perfect! A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I'll try this one again sometime but the first time I made it was waaay too spicy for myself. The BF loved it though. I had cut down the cayenne and doubled the sauce like others suggested, but perhaps for us weenies I'll just add a dash of cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Really delicious dish! I doubled the sauce as suggested by others and also left out the thyme because we don't like it. I had some extra bacon in the frige so I chopped that up and fried it before I followed the other directions. My 2-year old twin granddaughters dipped tortilla chips in the broth and LOVED it even though I thought it might be too spicy for them but it was nbot. This is so easy too that we will have it often. Next time I will serve this over pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This was good, but I have other shrimp recipes that my family likes better that are just as easy to make, so I'll probably stick with those. It made for a good supper, but I don't think I'll make it again. It was nice to try for something different, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I made this wine cooking wine instead of beer. I had the beer poured ready to go in and I backed out at the last minute. I had a pale ale on hand and after a long day just didn't want to take a chance when I knew wine would be perfect. We really enjoyed this. Added double wine and double butter to serve over pasta. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Made this as is except used 1/2 tsp. of cayenne. Dipped Olive bread in the sauce. Had Broccoli Salad with Avocado on the side.Very good! We love the Shrimp and sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This is the first time I've ever cooked shrimp in a pan at home (not counting fried, or bacon wrapped - but those aren't in a pan) that I have actually liked the outcome. I didn't have the green spices listed but I did have Italian seasoning, so I doubled the butter, the beer, used 4 tsp. Italian Seasoning, 1 tsp. salt, and half the amounts of the red pepper ingredients (1 tsp. cayenne, 1/2 tsp. red pepper). At the end I thought it was a little bit watery maybe I used a tad too much beer so I added some extra virigin olive oil and IT ROCKED! Loved it! Thanks! UPDATE: August, 20 - Made this again today with prawns but without the basil and I loved it even more. I wish I could give you a hundred stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Made for DH - I don't eat shrimp, but loved the sauce! Really quick to make, and great flavor; maybe I'll adapt for chicken. Thanks for sharing - going to weeknight 'keepers' file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Yum! Fast fast fast--great for a weeknight. Very spicy and delicious--I stirred in some grape tomatoes and day old rice and served it w/ parmesan roasted asparagus and garlic cheese bread--a hit! Thank you for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      KC_Cooker this recipe is AWESOME! I can't believe I didn't review it yet. It is full of flavor and easy to boot! We love the kick of the peppers. MMMMM! I have made it several times. The first time I followed your directions but doubled the sauce. Since then I use it as a base and add scallions, lemon zest and juice, capers, asparagus, and cherry tomatoes. I usually serve over abed of rice. DH and DS always give this one 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Amazing. We are sodium-conscious because of my bf's kidney disorder, so I omitted the extra salt. This dish was great, exactly the spice I was looking for. So easy. I woke up about midnight craving spice... I was going to make shrimp cocktail but threw this together instead in no time. Thanks a ton - can't wait to share this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      So I've had this tucked in a cookbook for who knows how long and now I'm wondering why, why didn't we try this sooner!!! As others suggested I doubled and thickened the sauce but halved the cayenne/red pepper flakes. We got a lovely spicy kick - we do like it hot so I might turn up the heat a tiny bit next time - oh yes there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This was great and easy. I made a few minor changes...I added fresh mushrooms and did 1 tablespoon of butter and one of olive oil and I doubled the sauce! The sauce over rice..yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      It was ok. I felt it lacked depth of flavor. I think I'll stick to my Shrimpin Dippin Broth recipe from Bubba Gump Co. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This is some goooooood stuff! The only change I made was to add a little cornstarch to the sauce to make it thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.2
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    44%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 316.2 mg
    105%
    Sodium 1677.8 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes