Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce

    Average Rating:

    176 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 176

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2014

      This is really tasty and really easy to make. I doubled the sauce but kept all ingredients as stated. I did not find it too spicy nor did my kids. Will definitely make again when splurging on a buttery recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Love the shrimp. So good. I made it with a creamy tomato pasta. My hubby loved it. But be careful can get really spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      To start with, I do not eat shrimp. So why make this recipe? Well, when I read the ingredients for the sauce DH said that it would be nice to try with codfish. OK, tried that and it was a hit. Made just as stated (with the codfish instead of shrimp) with the exception of, as another reviewer suggested, decreasing the cayenne pepper to just 1/4 teaspoon and it was plenty. Next time I will also decrease the thyme to 3/4 teaspoon as it was a little overpowering. We had enough sauce to save for the next day when we tossed it with spaghetti. Delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      Delicious, favorite part was the sauce!!! I cut back a little on the heat and served it over egg noodles. Hubby was not a fan of the dried herbs so, I will make it with ground herbs next time. And I agree, make extra sauce, you will be so glad you did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

    • on June 13, 2013

      Loved this! Made exactly as written except I did cut down on both the cayenne and the crushed red pepper. I used 3/4 lb of shrimp because there were only 2 of us but kept the rest the same so we'd have lots of that delicious juice. Dumped it over bowtie noodles with steamed broccoli as the veg. Quick, easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      We really liked this but I did make some changes. With reading the other reviews I did double the sauce but wasn't sure if I really needed too. I used Italian seasoning instead of oregano, basil and thyme as that is all I had. I also used old bay instead of the cayenne and red pepper flakes. I forgot to double the salt and pepper. I ate some on brown rice but everyone else ate them plain. We all really enjoyed these with the changes made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      I made this last night served over brown rice. By following others, I doubled the sauce recipe, and should have served it over pasta. I added extra garlic, as we like to actually be able to taste the garlic, especially in a butter sauce with shrimp!<br/><br/>I have to agree with others here, it was smelling AWESOME until the beer. I removed the shrimp while trying to simmer for "another minute" after adding the beer. I was quite worried they would over cook and become rubbery. I'm glad I did, because the 'sauce' was way too thin, and I had to thicken it with just a bit of cornstarch. <br/><br/>Overall, a great tasting dish, with my additions.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      A very nice and easy recipe. I cut way down on the cayenne, just used the pepper flakes. I admit to adding some cream to the sauce, to increase it (I should have read the reviews first), and also to cut down on the heat (find for me but not for DH!). I should also add that fresh prawns/shrimps seldom get peeled here in the southern parts of Africa -- we prefer it shell on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Made this for dinner last night, my boyfriend loved it! We doubled the 'sauce' componant since he's crazy about sauce. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      This dish was prepared by our daughter for New Years Dinner and I believe she followed the recipe as is and it was spectacular. Will be making again for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Great spice combo! Reminds me of New Orleans. I served it over angel hair pasta.... perfecto! Thanks for the great recipe~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Made half a recipe for the two of us and was great. A little spicy but great. Left out the cayenne and added cajun, no beer so used white wine. Served with sourdough bread and roasted garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      I only added a dash of cayenne and omitted the crushed red pepper, I just personal preference. Very good flavor, nice blend of spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Could eat this every day! Even the neighbor's kid comes a-runnin lol!!!!!!!!!!!!

      I do double the sauce and go easy on the cayenne for kids, serve with lots of French bread to sop up that delish sauce and salad :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Dear sweet lord this was incredible. Followed advice and doubled the butter beer sauce and we finished off 2 whole loaves of bread sopping it up. I used peeled and pre-cooked shrimp for simplicity but the ended up overcooked since, duh, they were cooked already and I threw them in hot butter sauce for awhile. Plus the sauce tastes best warm so I'd really suggest using raw shrimp for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Reduced Cayenne to 1/4 tsp and red pepper to 1/2 tsp and it was still pretty spicy, but very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Immediately after finishing his dinner my husband said "I'm excited to have this again for dinner sometime." So you can bet we'll be having this again! LOL. We like spicy food but 1 tsp seemed a little insane to me; I reduced it to 1/2 tsp and it was the perfect amount of heat for us. (I kept the crushed red pepper at 1/2 tsp.) I used unsalted butter and 1/2 tsp kosher salt and it was PLENTY salty; if I only had regular butter on hand, I'd reduce the amount of extra salt. My husband said it reminded him of a dish they served at a restaurant where he used to work. I served with plain, steamed broccoli (I put it on the same plate so it got some flavor by the sauce) and one loaf of French bread. Quick, easy, and delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      very good but, for me, too spicy with the full suggested dose of cayenne. Cleared the sinuses nicely. very quick and easy to make, will do again (will a bit less kick!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Neither one of us really liked this. Other than omitting the cayenne pepper, I made just as posted. I couldn't put my finger on what was wrong, but my son said he thought there were too many herbs and spices competing with each other and nobody was winning that contest. I ended up rinsing off my shrimp to finish dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.2
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    44%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 316.2 mg
    105%
    Sodium 1677.8 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites