Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2011

      This recipe is delicious, I have made this 5 times now.
      The amount of cayenne pepper in the recipe does make it quite hot so the last time I made this I substituted cajun instead of cayenne and it was perfect.
      I also cut down the time of making this recipe by using 1 &1/2 teaspoons of garlic powder instead of chopping garlic, I found no difference.
      Tossed with linguini noodles is the best!
      I also double the recipe as the original does not make much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I read some reviews first and followed some advice- double the sauce, but I didn't double the cayenne. OMG! We will be adding this to our regular rounds of dinner. So good- everyone loved it and it was seriously delish! I served it over pasta with some ceasar salad and crusty bread and we all wished there was more when we finished. Seriously good and considering how fast it came together and how easy it was- this is a huge winner in my books! THanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Awesome! I loved this! It reminded me of a spiced shrimp I've had on the coast of North Carolina. Wonderfully delicious and easy too! I served it with Jasmine rice and some stir fried zucchini. Note: I dusted the raw shrimp with some cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit. I have to modify the heat for my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Made this just as instructed except used frozen clean devained shrimp as it was what I had on hand. My family loves it! The recipe is fast and very easy. Should have doubled the sauce and rice as everyone raved...two familiy memebers went home and made it the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      The recipe was excellent! I doubled the sauce. However, I only gave it 4 stars because it is SO hot! Next time I make it I will halve the cayenne pepper. Otherwise it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      I hesitated to make this as some of the reviews indicated that the taste wasn't quite right, and with the variety of herbs and spices, this made some sense to me. But other reviews raved, so I figured I'd give it a shot. I am so glad I did. This was a big hit at dinner tonight! The only thing I changed was to omit the crushed red pepper and give people the option of adding it at the table. The flavor was just right and nobody used any of the red pepper I'd set out. It was quick and unique and I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Very good. As advised, I doubled the sauce and served over whole wheat angel hair with chopped steamed asparagus then topped with parmesan cheese. Add a salad and you've got yourself a healthy meal that tastes awesome. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Delicious! I added broccoli & whole wheat linguine and omitted the cayenne and used 1/4 c. beer. A restaurant quality dish! Some flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce would have made it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Super easy to prepare. I will say it is really hot... so hot that you loose the flavor of the other spices, so I am definately going to cut the cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon at the most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This recipe is similar to one of my favorite shrimp recipes (Spicy Shrimp). Except my recipe has slightly different ingredients, using white wine instead of beer. I had to try this beer recipe and it was great. I can now use beer when I am out of white wine in my recipe because this Butter-Beer Sauce is just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      WOW!!! What a great dish. I too doubled the sauce. In half I put shrimp the other half cubed chicken. I also thickened the sauce a little w/ flour and butter. Thank you so much for the great recipe. We will have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Excellent recipe. Incredibly fast and easy to make (and not much washing up!). Didn't have the dried herbs specified so used dried 'mixed herbs' instead. I also toned down the heat considerably by leaving out the cayenne and using only 1/4 teaspoon crushed chilli (from a bottle). This gave it enough zing for our taste. Also doubled the sauce. Despite these changes we LOVED the taste and will make this again ... and again .... and again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Ay-yiyiyiyi! Made this last night, exactly as directed, but doubled the sauce ingredients, as others had suggested. Well, both DH and I LOVE spicy food, but next time I double this, I'll double the beer and leave the spices as is. Boy-oh-boy did this "light us up". We totally enjoyed it, but my DH asked me if I'd added "Dave's Insanity Sauce" - it was that hot, to us, when I doubled the spices. Even with the spice heat, we loved the taste, and the ease of this recipe - very similar to a dish from one of our favorite local restaurants. Totally delicious, EdsGirl - we'll make this often, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      We LOVED this dish! I had to cut way back on the cayenne and peppers because of kids but other than that this dish rocks. I served it over basmati rice along with baked tomatoes and zuchinni. Can't wait to eat this dinner again. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      So GOOD!!!! I cut back the cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp. and it was perfect for us. We really enjoyed this. This recipe will be used often when I make shrimp. We try to have it once a month. And, I will make sure I have the french bread for dipping next time. Thanks EdsGirlAngie for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      This has been a hit every time I've made it. It goes well at pot lucks and parties. It's very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Quote from my husband, "I would eat this again, anytime--this was excellent!". We added very thinly sliced bell pepper and some diced fresh roma tomatoes for the veggie factor--served over noodles. Really good--spicier than I thought it would be but we like spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Yum! My husband loves shrimp and this recipe delivers on flavor. We cut back (1/2) on the cayenne and used 3 large cloves of fresh crushed garlic and still thought it had just enough spice, but not overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      I loved this in the pan before I added the beer, but then it lost some of its appeal. I typically love recipes with beer, so I'm not sure what the problem is. I would have liked more depth to the flavors...we ended up adding a little Worcestershire and lemon juice. It was very good and really easy...I'll make this again, the spices are dead on...very spicy and buttery, just how we like it. I may experiment with wine or some other liquid than the beer. DH liked the sauce better than I did, he thinks sometimes the Worcestershire sauces get *too* heavy. Really interesting recipe, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      Good work, EdsGirl! Had to substitute Smart Balance for the butter because dairy products trigger my colitis. It was still great! Next time, I think I will add a bit more garlic. Yums!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.2
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    44%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 316.2 mg
    105%
    Sodium 1677.8 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites