177 Reviews

This recipe is delicious, I have made this 5 times now.
The amount of cayenne pepper in the recipe does make it quite hot so the last time I made this I substituted cajun instead of cayenne and it was perfect.
I also cut down the time of making this recipe by using 1 &1/2 teaspoons of garlic powder instead of chopping garlic, I found no difference.
Tossed with linguini noodles is the best!
I also double the recipe as the original does not make much.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glockness February 16, 2011

I read some reviews first and followed some advice- double the sauce, but I didn't double the cayenne. OMG! We will be adding this to our regular rounds of dinner. So good- everyone loved it and it was seriously delish! I served it over pasta with some ceasar salad and crusty bread and we all wished there was more when we finished. Seriously good and considering how fast it came together and how easy it was- this is a huge winner in my books! THanks for a great recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piper C June 24, 2010

Awesome! I loved this! It reminded me of a spiced shrimp I've had on the coast of North Carolina. Wonderfully delicious and easy too! I served it with Jasmine rice and some stir fried zucchini. Note: I dusted the raw shrimp with some cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit. I have to modify the heat for my household.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie March 06, 2011

Made this just as instructed except used frozen clean devained shrimp as it was what I had on hand. My family loves it! The recipe is fast and very easy. Should have doubled the sauce and rice as everyone raved...two familiy memebers went home and made it the next day.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bitsie December 30, 2003

The recipe was excellent! I doubled the sauce. However, I only gave it 4 stars because it is SO hot! Next time I make it I will halve the cayenne pepper. Otherwise it was great.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdj1979 May 22, 2011

I hesitated to make this as some of the reviews indicated that the taste wasn't quite right, and with the variety of herbs and spices, this made some sense to me. But other reviews raved, so I figured I'd give it a shot. I am so glad I did. This was a big hit at dinner tonight! The only thing I changed was to omit the crushed red pepper and give people the option of adding it at the table. The flavor was just right and nobody used any of the red pepper I'd set out. It was quick and unique and I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F December 03, 2010

Very good. As advised, I doubled the sauce and served over whole wheat angel hair with chopped steamed asparagus then topped with parmesan cheese. Add a salad and you've got yourself a healthy meal that tastes awesome. Thanks for the recipe

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer jay May 27, 2010

Delicious! I added broccoli & whole wheat linguine and omitted the cayenne and used 1/4 c. beer. A restaurant quality dish! Some flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce would have made it even better.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rayndrop May 01, 2010

Super easy to prepare. I will say it is really hot... so hot that you loose the flavor of the other spices, so I am definately going to cut the cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon at the most.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lincoln_rose November 24, 2009

This recipe is similar to one of my favorite shrimp recipes (Spicy Shrimp). Except my recipe has slightly different ingredients, using white wine instead of beer. I had to try this beer recipe and it was great. I can now use beer when I am out of white wine in my recipe because this Butter-Beer Sauce is just as good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B November 24, 2009
Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce