Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dirty Rice With Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dirty Rice With Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2010

      Fantastic! Didn't have any shrimp on hand so I just used beef sausage, left the celery out, but added broccoli. The flavor was phenomenal. Just enough of a 'kick' to make it really exciting, but not so spicy that we couldn't feed it to the kids. AMAZING recipe. I'll be making this again and again. Ty for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      What sushi is on a Japanese table is what dirty rice is to the Cajun table. Used up some leftover ground pork and didn't have any shrimp, but still good enough for our Cajun Riviera.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Excellent recipe! Very flavorful with the spices used, although I did increase to our liking. I did omit the pork (vegetarian) and just used the shrimp. Great served with homemade cornbread. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      My husband really liked this but I felt like something was missing. Also, my rice was not fully cooked after the 15 minutes. By the time the dish was done, it was still a little bit crunchy. Will increase cook time to 20 minutes on rice. Also, I left out the green pepper because we don't like cooked green pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      That was Really good! I doubled just about everything, except spices. However, I added 1 TBS of Chicken Seasoning, and 1/2 TBS Old Bay. For the chicken stock, I used 2 chicken bullion cubes and 1 beef bullion cube. Also, I precooked the rice, so there was some juice in the final product. Great 1 pot meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Wow! This is a party in your mouth! I substituted ground pork sausage, doubled the garlic (love the stuff), and decreased the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. The family and I just loved it. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I cooked this recipe in a rice cooker with everything but the meat and it came out great. Served along side some baked salmon. Will definitely try this one again with the proper meats! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      We loved this. I didn't have bell pepper or celery on hand, so we threw in carrots and broccoli instead, and it worked out great. We also used chicken sausage instead of ground pork, since that's what we had in our fridge. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Delicious. I discovered I only had a red bell pepper instead of green, but I was pleased that it made the recipe more colorful, and still tasted great. I'll think I'll do that again in the future. Thanks for posting this winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Very good! My daughter and I both liked this a lot. The husband was more luke-warm about it because he doesn't care for shrimp (unless it's disguised in a thick layer of batter and deep-fried!)I didn't change a thing (except I added less shrimp for the reason stated previously...) and it turned out perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      I'm from New Orleans and have had some pretty mean dirty rice! This recipe created dirty rice that was just delicious! I followed the instructions to a tee except left out the shrimp and wish I had thought to cut back on the rice because of it. Otherwise, it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      This was really good. It had a nice little zing to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Taste wise, this was really good. However, I had to cook my rice for well over an hour before it was fully cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      Excellent recipe. The only change I made was to make 2 servings, instead of 4. And it turned out great. Thanks again for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This made a really wonderful supper, easy, delicious and inexpensive. Other than using a sweet red pepper, I followed the recipe exactly. I had to grind up a couple of sirloin chops because I couldn't buy ground pork--but that worked out well anyway as I could trim most of the fat. Even our picky daughter, who wandered in at suppertime, enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for posting this, we'll be using it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      OMG!!! My husband and I really like the boxed dirty rice and I came across this and decided I would give it a try. The whole family loved it. I took a bowl to my friend and she came back for seconds. This was a huge hit. I did modify this for our family. I doubled the recipe but did not double the onions, bell pepper, and celery(since DH picks them out). I was alittle worried about the ground pork since I had never used it before but it was great and I do not think this recipe would be the same with out it. Early this morning I cut up the onions, bell pepper,celery an also measured out my spices, so I would not have to do it last min. I am rating as a five star b/c this is a quick, easy, very tasty and not expensive(est. $20). Thank you so much for posting. I know I will be making this for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      Very good! I doubled the amount of pork and the cayanne pepper, and it was absolutely delicious. Will make again, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dirty Rice With Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (515 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 597.8
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    32%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 184.1 mg
    61%
    Sodium 1769.7 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 34.5 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites