Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dirty Rice (NO LIVERS) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dirty Rice (NO LIVERS)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      This is a great dish for those who do not like chicken livers! Easy to prepare and very flavorful. I followed everything exactly except I used about 1/2 teaspoon of chopped jalapenos because I do not care for "spicy hot" dishes. I have added this recipe to my "keeper" notebook. Thanks so much for sharing it. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I used all beef. But, next time I will try with 1/2 sausage. We loved it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      had to find a recipe for dirty rice since dh has been reading James Lee Burke's novels lately - this satisfied him, but not sure about presentation? what do i serve this with?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Finally! I found my recipe for Dirty Rice.........no more boxed mixes. This is the one!! I made a few changes. I used two cups of rice, 1 pound ground chuck, 1/2 pound hot sausage, bay leaf, rosemary, and itailian seasoning, celery seed and 2 1/2 cups of water. I still only used 1 can of cream of chicken and french onion soup. It was delicious and my family loved it. I do like chicken livers so I will add some the next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      My husband's mother was from the heart of cajun country so he remembers eating this as a child when they would go visit relatives in Lousisiana as a child. I am not very fond of the taste of liver, so this was a huge hit at our house by using the ground beef instead. The blend of spices was perfect! I cooked mine in a well sprayed, air bake cake pan and only cooked it for 1 3/4 hours. It came out very moist and so good. My grandkids were eating it out of the pan cold the next day and my husband just loved it! Thanks for sharing...this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I've never had dirty rice before; this is good but not outstanding. The rice was ve-e-ry soft and gummy; maybe I could have decreased the cooking time. Nice flavor, and I like that it's a one-dish meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      I used all sausage as my son doesn't like ground beef. Everyone ate it up. I used the whole jalapeno and put the green onions in with the dish. I used creole seasoning since that is what I had. Thank you for sharing! It was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Very easy to make. Great taste, I used half ground beef half hot sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      I love this recipe! It is like princess buttercup read my mind. I can't stand liver, gizzard or meat by produts such as tripe, tongue, or intestines. I was getting sick of looking for a dirty rice recipe and they all had that gross stuff in them. My stomach was starting to churn just looking at the recipes - Yuck! But this recipe is great, great, great. I added some thing to it though. Celery salt, italian seasoning, rosemary, season salt,and mild green tobasco sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Highly flavorable. My DH really loved this. Prepared as instructed, only problem I had was the rice was over cooked and the casserole stuck to the bottom of the pan. Next time I'll try greasing it and decrease the temp time a bit. Thanks princess buttercup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      Very yummy! I added 2 stalks of celery and used 1/2 lb. of hot sausage. It turned out excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Great!!! Need more stars for this one. My hubby does not like rice very much and never want it. Well he ate what I put on his plate and wanted more. He said it is a 5 star. I did not put the Jalapenos in it but next time I sure will. Very good taste and super easy to make. Thank You for a wonderful recipe. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dirty Rice (NO LIVERS)

    Serving Size: 1 (346 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.1
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    38%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 83.2 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1253.7 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 28.9 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes