8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so good! My husband and kids loved it. I plan on making this for a side dish for Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggy Boo October 30, 2012

I give the simplicity of the recipe 5 stars, but need to knock the final rating down to 4 stars based on how my dish turned out. Is it suppose to be a saucy/gooey version of dirty rice? The ones I've had in restaurants were much drier. I like everything about this recipe - the easiness, the flavor - all except for the gooey texture. How do I get around that?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeiMorris February 15, 2010

very good recipe.thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerkyman3 November 08, 2009

Original review: July 30, 2007.This is very good. It was better than I thought it was going to be. I used pork regular sausage This is versatile. I had leftovers, which I made a stuffed green bell pepper with. I topped it with salsa and shredded cheddar cheese. It came out really good. I like it when I can use leftovers in something else. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for such a good recipe V. May 17, 2009. I am still making this recipe. Today I used fresh pork. A lady at the Farmers Market I go to raises pigs and has them butchered and packaged. The sausage is so good. It has very little fat. It makes this recipe taste soooo good!!! Thanks again V.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof May 17, 2009

This turned out so good! I used turkey sausage just to cut back on calories, and it still turned out really good! Other than that I followed the recipe. This was very easy, and my kids really enjoyed this! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess O June 10, 2008

Easy, quick and tasty!! DD made this one tonight for me as a side dish for the ZWT3 and it was delicious. I used HOT and spicy italian sausage and it was actually too hot for DD, but DH and I LOVED it!! ;) Thanks for a keeper, Chef V!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva June 25, 2007

This sounded so good that I really wanted to try it out but I just couldn't face 60% fat. I apologize V, but I used veggie sausage mix. I know this is sacrilege for a Southern recipe but it was good! and it worked quite well. I used it as the main dish for dinner with carrots and a salad. The whole thing was done in double time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 14, 2007

Great side dish and so much more substantial than standard rice. I threw in a little turkey bacon for some smokey flavor and served it with Brolied Scallops. It went over VERY well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kwestpfahl April 17, 2007
Dirty Rice (Easy)