Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dirt Cake II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dirt Cake II

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2009

      The cream cheese, pudding, and whipped topping mixture create a mousse-like filling that is good enough to eat alone! I actually use this to create a trifle, layering chunks of devil's food cake and pudding mixture, then topping the last layer of pudding mixture with the crushed cookies. Maybe I'll submit my version of this dessert when I have time. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I've enjoyed eating Dirt Cake, but not making it before, and these instructions were very helpful. I used sugar free vanilla pudding, skim milk, fat free whipped topping, and low fat cream cheese. I also used chocolate graham crackers instead of Oreos, because we don't care for things to be too sweet, and the graham crackers were so easy to crush by hand (I don't have a food processor). I love the flower pot idea, but for transportation purposes, I layered it into a rectangular glass dish and garnished it with gummy worms. It was a big hit! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Try it frozen. This is a great recipe. I have been making it for years. Just use a knife to cut into slices or squares when serving. My family prefers it frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I love dirt cake. It rocks. I have made it every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas for as long as I started partaking in making food for the holidays. I add a cup of powdered sugar to mine though. I don't put it in a flower pot, but that is a cute idea. I think I also you two packages of cream cheese. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Love this cake! My mom always made it when my brother and I were kids for all occasions... in flower pots with poinsettas for christmas, or with bare black branches for Halloween. We even made one in a cat litter box with graham crackers on top (complete with melted chocolate bar "cat poop") for a cake contest one year. Great cake for kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Congrats! Your recipe was featured as Recipe of the Day on our homepage today (5/31) and in this week's Food.com newsletter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Very good dessert. I made this for my family and they loved it. Its so simple to put together and tasted great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I am so glad to have found this. I ahd a very similar, if not exact recipe, TYPED, yes, typed on a piece of paper and have lost it. This is delicious and easy. I put the cookies in a zip lock bag and crunch them up in there; save on cleaning time, and if you have kids it's something they could do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      Great recipe however, the recipe calls for 2-boxes of instant vanilla pudding so I bought 2 boxes. When I started actually making the dirt cake I saw it called for 2-large boxes. It turned out just fine with the smaller boxes but I just wanted to make note of it for those who have to have the exact ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2001

      This recipe is very tasty, and a big hit with the kids. Make sure your cream cheese is soft before you mix it in or you'll have lumps. If you don't have a flower pot on hand, a 9" deep dish pie pan works well,too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      This is a YUMMO dessert! My recipe calls for chocolate pudding, but I use banana cream pudding.
      I also turn this into "sand" I use the banana pudding and white oreos for my grandkids birthday parties since we have swimming parties, I then use a kids sand bucket and shovel to serve. They love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      Well unfortunately I must rate this 5 stars because I made last nite in a 9x13 pan and the family almost ate the whole pan. I wanted to put it in the freezer but it didn't make it!! :) This was a very good dessert and will be used many times!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dirt Cake II

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.5
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    52%
    Total Fat 33.6 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 19.5 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 55.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 766.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.1 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 49.0 g
    196%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    flower pot

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes