26 Reviews

I have added a bit more sugar to the dipping sauce and it just taste amazing..I just couldn't find the Italian seasoning here in canada, i've tired no frills, food basic, superstore, but no luck...I am sure it would taste even better with that...now i just need to get the powered milk to start the breadsticks and enjoy this snack...no more going to pizza hut

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
safwan November 08, 2011

I should advise everyone who makes this sauce, add about 2 tablespoons of sugar and it should taste EXACTLY like the pizza hut sauce. I will definitely make this again, thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~D.M~ April 09, 2010

This was really good sauce! I tripled it and used one can tomato sauce, one can diced tomatoes, one can tomato paste and used the spices as written. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebekahj0 December 06, 2009

Easy and excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GwenG February 09, 2010

Like suggested by previous reviewer, used canned tomatoes for texture, TRUE! With rest of ingredients, I still found it bland too! I added 1 1/2 tbsp Splenda, 4 tablespoons pizza paste with herbs too, Adding fresh basil brought the sauce to life for me, TRUE! Am sure we can chalk this up to personal taste for me, But if you say it taste like Pizza Hut, this is as good as it can be! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder October 10, 2009

I made this to go with your recipe, bread sticks,pizza hut style. My sister and her kids loved these! The sauce is great. With the bread sticks it is heavenly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom May 06, 2009

I made this sauce for pizza. I followed the recipe as directed, but did add a tbsp on sugar. I have to agree with another review - the oregano is a little overpowering. I didn't think it tasted like Pizza Hut sauce, but it was good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quest4ZBest May 05, 2009

I served this sauce with your Pizza Hut Style Breadsticks. I added 2 tbsp sugar to the sauce as suggested by other reviewers and it was pretty good. Next time, though, I think I will add in about 1 1/2 tbsp only. This sauce complemented the breadsticks very well and really felt like it came from pizza hut. Thank you Dee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's November 02, 2008

..Almost. Except it's missing sugar. That's the one thing that I love so much about the dipping sauce at pizza hut, is that it's sweet enough to offset the salty breadsticks. Otherwise it's wonderful. Also, I used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, because I like the texture of it more. Thank you so much Chef Dee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamc100 September 23, 2008
Dipping Sauce - Pizza Hut Style