20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This a stand-by in my Christmas cookie recipes. I normally don't like the crispiness of gingersnaps, and the dough can be hard to work with. This is completely different. The flavor is spicy, and the cookie is soft. I don't even dip these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kriggsbee June 04, 2010

Yummy! The cookies are great by themselves and the chocolate puts them over the top. Thanks for posting!! Made for the I Recommend Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom November 11, 2008

I thought these were fantastic. I usually do not like anything with molasses, but these are very mild..and quite yummy! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry January 01, 2008

The cookies themselves are so very, very good! Even my dear man who doesn't usually like gingersnaps thought these were outstanding. The batter was thinner than I expected, but the cookies were moist and chewy while crispy in all the right ways. Like others, only about half of the sugar for rolling was required. I used my cookie scoop to scoop and drop into sugar a few at time, and it made things really easy. For the life of me and with two attempts, I couldn't get the chocolate to melt properly, so mine are "undipped" this time. First time, the heat may have been too high, but second time I was more careful about the heat but got same results - a big lump of white chocolate. I'm fairly new at cooking, so I'll just have to find out more about the chocolate issue. Still, even "undipped" these are delicious, and I know that I will make these again and again. *Update: had to try the dipping again and went with chocolate made for melting, but forgot the margarine in my excitement that it would easily melt in a Pyrex cup in the microwave. Glad I tried again. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking December 31, 2007

I did these without the white chocolate dip and they were also rather good just as a regular gingersnap. I am not sure what I did but mine turned out much bigger than the picture and I had MANY more than the 24 suggested. That wasn't a problem though since they tasted good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne December 21, 2007

OK...I really wish I could give these 4.5 stars. The cookies themselves are SUPER yummy. The only problem I had was with the white chocolate. I followed the recipe to the "T" and my chocolate didn't ever melt...it started to, then it went from the chips, to this really dry substance to burned. Nothing ever creamy or melty. I even tried to spread what I could salvage from the partially burned stuff in the pan and it wouldn't even spread, let alone work for dipping. Which actually works out OK, because as I said, the cookies are yummy. But I was hoping for the extra *Oooo* factor that the white chocolate may have added. Thanks for posting, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama December 05, 2007

Great recipe. These cookies turned out perfect in every way. They were very easy to mix up and were a real hit. Thanks for this great recipe, one that has found its way to my keepers file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 December 26, 2006

This recipe was absolutely AMAZING!!! I brought them to work and my colleagues want the recipe. I also only needed have the chocolate and sugar for rolling and dipping. Great recipe! Thanks Pamela. These will be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sparkle 1874 December 18, 2006

Wonderful cookies! My grandmother use to make gingersnaps but I don't remember hers tasting this good.I used my small cookie scoop and got 44 cookies. I have already eaten 3 and have not dipped them yet. Thanks Pamela, for another addition to my tryed and liked cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilysmom December 03, 2006
Dipped Gingersnaps