18 Reviews

Lovely rolls if you are in a hurry. Mine didn't turn out very light. Perhaps not warm enough for the one rise. I will make these again only I'll do 2 rises and see what happens. Tasty nevertheless. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama November 23, 2013

Very tasty but the recipe is dry. I had to add so much more water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lgstacey1 January 08, 2012

These are very good! I used equal parts wheat, oat, spelt, and AP flours. The dough was very easy to work with, and as the title states they were ready in a hour! Thanks for posting! Made for Best of 2010 tag!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian February 16, 2011

I was looking through all the recipes here for dinner rolls. I read yours, and saved it to my short list of something to make for Thanksgiving. I thought I had never heard the name Beatrice Ojakangas before, but literally 10 minutes after I read your recipe I went to my old bookcase in the hallway (it's pretty dark in there) full of cookbooks, pulled one out at random only because I could see the word "Baking" in the title. I took it back to my computer table, then looked at the cover and saw that it was The Great Scandinavian Baking Book by Beatrice Ojakangas! I had read through the book at some point because it has little orange "flags" sticking out of several pages, but it is one of those books I had sort forgotten I had. It was so funny and strange I had to write and tell you, even though it's too late to start baking even "One Hour" Rolls tonight! When I read your description, I would have sworn I had never seen that name before. With such a coincidence for an omen, I guess it means I should make your recipe for Thanksgiving! I'm planning a trial run tomorrow. Wish me luck. 5 stars for helping me pick one recipe out of the hundreds I have read through tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jilkat25 November 21, 2010

These are fantastic rolls! I made a trial batch and they were gone so quick I only had one. I ended up baking 6 batches of these to take to a church soup supper. They disappeared in no time. Thanks mersaydees!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu March 03, 2010

Easy and very nice, perfect match to a pot of chili. I had to pose "some" of the rolls for a picture because hungry people saw them come out of the oven. One note: the fast-rise yeast needs to be pretty warm to do its best work; in a cool winter kitchen I had to give it a little help, so part of its rising time was on a rack over the inverted lid of the simmering chili. Made for Aus/NZ swap, Jan. 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn January 31, 2010

These are great! Have had success using 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups white.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeanneHock January 10, 2010

Wow! Only one rising, done in an hour with such light & fluffy results. My whole family LOVED these rolls. My husband said, and I quote, "These are as light as a feather, but luckily don't taste like one". I got a kick out of that. The whole pan of rolls were gone by the time dinner ended (and we only have a family of four). I'm impressed with how easy these were to make. I used my food processor and they were whipped up in no time. Thanks for a recipe that will be a staple in our house!! ~Made for Veg*n Swap September~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 09, 2009

I made these to go along with our flank steak dinner. Mine didn't raise very well, but we have had none stop rain and the humidity is off the chart, so I think that had something to do with it. But what I can say is that the flavor is wonderful!! I plan to make these again when we have better weather, as they were so simple, I used my food processor, and quick from beginning to end!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!! Made for your win in the Games Summer Spectacular.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 02, 2009

Excellent dinner rolls. I didn't read the instructions right and added the butter to the batter, but they still turned out great. Loved the texture and the taste of these delicious rolls. Will make again. DH said they were very close to his grandmothers homemade rolls. That is a good thing. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 04, 2009
Dinner Rolls in One Hour