Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dinner in a Pumpkin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dinner in a Pumpkin

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2011

      SO yummy! I am making this again tomorrow for a friend who has a Halloween Party. It was perfect here, and will be there as well! :) I used fresh baby portabella mushrooms, sliced, and then didn't let it simmer on the stove. It did take 2 hrs to cook, but was well worth the wait! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      Such a fun dinner idea! Perfect even if people don't like pumpkin, since you really don't HAVE to eat the pumpkin (although I highly recommend it)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Fun!! We really enjoyed this. I made just as posted except I didn't have any mushrooms, and I did add a bit of garlic. We enjoyed this for our Halloween dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I would rate this one a thousand times if I could. This has become a tradition with myself and my 10 year old twins for many years now. Our "family tradition" is that we make this every year when "It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown" (a classic) comes on tv. We watch the show and have our special dinner in a pumpkin. Over the years many friends have hinted that they (kids and adults) would like to be invited to our special holiday dinner. lol Love it. And it just so happens that the movie is on ABC tomorrow night and we are looking forward to our tradition carrying on yet another year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      I have had this every year on Halloween night for as long as I can remember! I love how some people have cut the pumpkin top...so cute! We always draw a face on the pumpkin with a permanent marker. If you are debating to try this, think no more, it's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      fun and easy! made a few changes: used only a little over 1 lb. of ground turkey; added 1 tsp. of minced garlic and 1/2 c. of chopped celery when browning the meat; deglazed pan after browning meat with about 6 T. of chardonnay, then threw in seasonings and soup, then threw in meat; used a brown & wild rice mix instead of just plain rice; used cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken and omitted mushrooms, also added pepper; rubbed inside of pumpkin with 2 T. brown sugar and 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. my husband loved it! i would've added more salt and pepper and some seasoning, but i'm not sure what--maybe sage? any suggestions? update: i made this again, wondering why last time i used chardonnay w/the turkey. weird. anyway, so this time i only had canned chicken, so i used that and was about to get the chardonnay when i passed the madeira and ooohh...that was a good move. also, this time threw in some poultry seasoning and salt and that gave it a little more flavor. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I made this 2 years ago for our annual pumpkin carving party meal and forgot to rate it. We all enjoyed it very much, and there were many requests for it's return this year at our party. So I will be making this tomorrow night to satisfy many family members! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that fits right in to our party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      As a first time dinner in a pumpkin maker, I thought this turned out well for my first try. Although I did make a few changes. First, I used a frozen mix of chopped onion, celary & peppers [[plus I added a few chopped green peppers]] I sauted those with the ground beef. I used a larger can of mushrooms. Before I added the meat mixture to the pumpkin, I coated the inside with a bit of pumpkin pie spice and some salt. I really enjoyed this, and I think I see a new Halloween tradition in my future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      We really enjoyed this for our Halloween dinner this year. I thought it would be something fun to bring to the table, especially with both sets of grandparents joining us this year. Everybody really enjoyed the flavor, which my dad summed up nicely: "Not really sweet, not really spicy, just good tasting." The flavor surprised me - but not in a bad way. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Very fun to make and serve, quite tasty, and great comfort food. Served shortly after baking it really warmed the tummy on an autumn day. I had to omit the mushrooms because my 17-year-old balks at them and found out I didn't have water chestnuts on hand. I used brown rice and substituted chopped celery for the water chestnuts, and it was very good. Next time I would likely try jimnyo's treatment of the inside of the pumkin to enhance the flavor a bit. I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

    • on November 01, 2006

      I thought that this was pretty good. My family didnt like it though. Sorry. Though, my husband doesnt like to try new and different recipes to begin with. I'm glad I tried this though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Making this has become a family tradition year after year. It is comfort food we look forward to, and every family member of every age loves it. I don't change a single ingredient, it is perfect as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      Wow! This tasted great and looked neat, too! Maybe because my pumpkin was a little large, it did not cook in 1 hr. Perhaps just a little longer would have done the trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Excellant Dish; Did a double using 2 lbs Chile Grind Brisket and 2 lbs Chile Grind Pork Loin then added 1 lb of sweet Italian Sausage. Used Fresh Mushrooms a little extra Brown Sugar - 1 can each of Cream of Chicken amd Cream of Mushroom Soup - A big Hit and have been asked to do it again - Perfect for a Pot Luck of large family occasion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Very nice! The brown sugar was a surprise ingredient for me. I used brown rice, and took this dish to a friend's house for an easy make-ahead dinner. We enjoyed it very much, and the presentation in the pumpkin got high marks. It's a great fall buffet recipe, and we thought it would also be nice to make for a crowd when we get together for football games.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dinner in a Pumpkin

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 540.8
     
    Calories from Fat 283
    52%
    Total Fat 31.5 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 108.4 mg
    36%
    Sodium 938.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pumpkin

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites