Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ding Dong Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ding Dong Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2009

      I had a piece of Ding Dong cake for the first time last Friday night at a local diner and it was out of this world fantastic so I wanted a recipe that was as close to it as I could get. This recipe fits the bill. I made it in 2 nine inch round cake pans. I layered it into 4 layers and used the filling between three. I had a little left over and probably could have used more between the layers. The icing was great. I used a little over 3 cups of powdered sugar for the icing and it was perfect. I was EXTREMELY pleased with this recipe and will be sure to pass it along to my friends who had a slice of the cake and RAVED over it. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL RECIPE THAT IS SURE TO WOW EVERYONE WHO TRIES IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Great cake. My family loves ding dongs and this made for a great dessert! I used Devils Food Cake/1948 Version (Devils Food Cake/1948 version) instead of the boxed cake mix and baked in two round cake pans (9inch). Put filling on top of one cake and topped with the other cake. Then frosted. A big hit! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I made this for my son's 21st birthday, and it is sooo good. I used two box mixes for the cake and sliced them up for layers. There was plenty of filling and it is divine; so smooth and creamy! I did add another 1/2 C powdered sugar on the last mix, as I like it sweeter, but I didn't have a recipe like this and I will use this filling all over the place as you can build a lot of different things with it. Thank you very much for posting this : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Delicious! I made it in 3 8-inch round cake pans and also used cream cheese icing rather than chocolate on top. I did add more sugar to the filling b/c mine tasted too floury for me. Thanks for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I had been given this recipe several years ago from a dear neighbor that I lost touch with when we both moved from Okinawa. My husband loves this recipe, and it was exactly as he remembered, although my original recipe called for storebought frosting (so that is what I used here). My only change was that I did not read the recipe, so I did not mix the filling ingredients in the same order as listed, but it still turned out good. Again, thank you for reminding me of the friends we meet when serving overseas!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      This is a delicious and unique cake and appeals to everyone who loves chocolate and cream. My son loves this cake and has no desire to eat anything else if this is in the house! Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      Great dessert! Everyone loved it! Of course, it is chocolate, so how could you possibly go wrong? For the icing, I added about 2 cups of powdered sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

    • on July 25, 2013

      Fantastic recipe! I have made it several times and each time it's perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      This cake was ding dong delicious!!! It was light and extremely tasty! This will definately be one of my regular desserts! Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      This is delish!!!!! Tastes just like a ding dong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      so so good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ding Dong Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.2
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    47%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 26.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 468.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 36.3 g
    145%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes