Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Diner's Swiss Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Diner's Swiss Steak

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2011

      It's been a long time since I've had Swiss steak and I've never made it myself. I did make one change in that after browing the mead I added all the ingrediants to the crock pot and cooked 4 hours on low. It came out wonderful with nice tender meat. The smell as it was cooking was wonderful. I served with mashed potatoes and a glass of Washington red wine - what a pleasant, comforting dinner. We loved it and now that I've remembered it - will be making it more often. Made for ZWT 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Hubby and I thought this was ok. I used sirloin steak and followed the directions exactly, but the steaks did not turn out very tender, they weren't total rubber, but they were a little tough. Over all the taste of the sauce was great (only change I made was I added a bay leaf) and we served it with egg noodles. I've never had good luck with cooking steaks on the stovetop, maybe next time I try it I will just cook them low and slow in the oven and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for posting, I always like trying something new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Made this for dinner and served with Red Skin Potatoes With Bacon and Cheese#222264 and a green salad and bread to sop up some of the juice. Wonderful!!! I added some minced garlic and sliced green pepper and used a sirloin steak...turned out tender and delicious. I will definately make this again and serve it with mashed potatoes.Made for Think Pink Tag Game 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight using flat iron steaks. I had to cook it longer than 45 minutes to get the meat tender so next time I'll use sirloin. The taste was wonderful. The only thing I added was 1/2 of a red bell pepper that I needed to use. I served it with mashed potatoes, green beans, and fresh cauliflower. My family loved it. Thanks for sharing this nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This is a grand recipe and DH really enjoyed the flavor a lot. I think next time I'll try it with round steak in the crock pot for the day (I have several pieces of round in the freezer). Swiss Steak couldn't get much easier than this and I cut it with a fork. Oh yes, I used a can of stewed tomatoes to add a little more flavor. Served with the obligatory mashed spuds and a mix if cauliflower, brussels sprouts and carrots. Yumm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Made for Zaar Stars. Excellent recipe and pure comfort food. We all enjoyed this. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus. Thanks for posting this Diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      What a wonderful dinner we had. FIVE stars from everyone here. I did not change nothing. Served with Mashed Potatoes and Green Lima Beans. Thank You very much for a recipe I have been looking for. Tastes just like my Mothers. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Photo Tag 2007 ~ Oooh, tasty! I used braising steak for this and even though it was tender after the 45 minutes, I probably could have cooked it for another 15 to be perfect. Great flavor with very simple ingredients. Thanks Diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Hmmm...so good! I substituted blade steak for the sirloin...and the rest was as posted. This is true comfort food. I liked the consistency of the sauce, real chunky, and the volume of flavor that you got for such few ingredients. I used some of the sauce to top brown rice and finished off with a side salad. It is all I needed for a complete meal. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      Yum perfect! Fork tender sirloin steak that melts in your mouth and a gravy has so much flavor! I used olive oil to brown the steak and then add another tablespoon or two to cook the veggies. Next time I'll make a little rice to serve with this. But tonight we ate it without a side dish. diner524, I'll be making this one again! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders 2007 game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      We enjoyed this a lot. My DS suggested adding some melted jack cheese, and maybe some bell pepper, so I'll be making this again next week! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      I make this on a fortnightly basis, only difference is I add a tbs of tomato paste tot he tomatoes and add paprikatp the flour mixture

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Steak Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Diner's Swiss Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.2
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    58%
    Total Fat 32.1 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 127.5 mg
    42%
    Sodium 112.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 36.6 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites