12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's been a long time since I've had Swiss steak and I've never made it myself. I did make one change in that after browing the mead I added all the ingrediants to the crock pot and cooked 4 hours on low. It came out wonderful with nice tender meat. The smell as it was cooking was wonderful. I served with mashed potatoes and a glass of Washington red wine - what a pleasant, comforting dinner. We loved it and now that I've remembered it - will be making it more often. Made for ZWT 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 15, 2011

Hubby and I thought this was ok. I used sirloin steak and followed the directions exactly, but the steaks did not turn out very tender, they weren't total rubber, but they were a little tough. Over all the taste of the sauce was great (only change I made was I added a bay leaf) and we served it with egg noodles. I've never had good luck with cooking steaks on the stovetop, maybe next time I try it I will just cook them low and slow in the oven and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for posting, I always like trying something new.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly October 12, 2009

Made this for dinner and served with Red Skin Potatoes With Bacon and Cheese#222264 and a green salad and bread to sop up some of the juice. Wonderful!!! I added some minced garlic and sliced green pepper and used a sirloin steak...turned out tender and delicious. I will definately make this again and serve it with mashed potatoes.Made for Think Pink Tag Game 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 05, 2009

I made this for dinner tonight using flat iron steaks. I had to cook it longer than 45 minutes to get the meat tender so next time I'll use sirloin. The taste was wonderful. The only thing I added was 1/2 of a red bell pepper that I needed to use. I served it with mashed potatoes, green beans, and fresh cauliflower. My family loved it. Thanks for sharing this nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY October 05, 2009

This is a grand recipe and DH really enjoyed the flavor a lot. I think next time I'll try it with round steak in the crock pot for the day (I have several pieces of round in the freezer). Swiss Steak couldn't get much easier than this and I cut it with a fork. Oh yes, I used a can of stewed tomatoes to add a little more flavor. Served with the obligatory mashed spuds and a mix if cauliflower, brussels sprouts and carrots. Yumm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 27, 2009

Made for Zaar Stars. Excellent recipe and pure comfort food. We all enjoyed this. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus. Thanks for posting this Diner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft July 26, 2009

What a wonderful dinner we had. FIVE stars from everyone here. I did not change nothing. Served with Mashed Potatoes and Green Lima Beans. Thank You very much for a recipe I have been looking for. Tastes just like my Mothers. Hugs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda July 20, 2008

Photo Tag 2007 ~ Oooh, tasty! I used braising steak for this and even though it was tender after the 45 minutes, I probably could have cooked it for another 15 to be perfect. Great flavor with very simple ingredients. Thanks Diner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryQueen October 19, 2007

Hmmm...so good! I substituted blade steak for the sirloin...and the rest was as posted. This is true comfort food. I liked the consistency of the sauce, real chunky, and the volume of flavor that you got for such few ingredients. I used some of the sauce to top brown rice and finished off with a side salad. It is all I needed for a complete meal. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandylee September 11, 2007

Yum perfect! Fork tender sirloin steak that melts in your mouth and a gravy has so much flavor! I used olive oil to brown the steak and then add another tablespoon or two to cook the veggies. Next time I'll make a little rice to serve with this. But tonight we ate it without a side dish. diner524, I'll be making this one again! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders 2007 game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 16, 2007
Diner's Swiss Steak