Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Diner's Freezer Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Diner's Freezer Salsa

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2008

      I was gifted 7 HUGE tomatoes by a neighbor of mine and knew that DH and I couldn't eat them fast enough before they spoiled. Decided to try my hand at salsa except one problem- I don't can. So- freezer was the next option. Had to scale back the recipe to about half and left out the habaneros (personal preference) and limes (didn't have any). Only took about 50 minutes to boil down and I got about 2- 3 cup containers worth. Just taste tested it and WOW! I can't believe I made salsa this GOOD! No one flavor stands out over the others and can't wait to enjoy something fresher than the jarred stuff. Can't wait to make more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Loved it...a little spicy. We used red and yellow peppers instead of green. It looks very colorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      I just made this salsa and it is really really good. I am hoping it is just as good frozen as it is fresh! Thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Thank you so much for this recipe. My husbands tomatoes have been very productive this year, and I also hate to can. I didn't use all the ingredients stated, but It turned out exactly like we wanted it to. This is what I'm going to use to freeze just plain tomatoes too. I will add just a little salt and vinegar, and freeze in 8 to 10 ounce packages, just enough for a pot of soup. Once again, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Love this! My DH snatched some and took it to work before it was even finished boiling down. I added more garlic and some basil as well. I know it's missing something, but I can't figure out what it is and I dont mind anyway. Can't wait to try it in the middle of the winter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I don't know what this stuff is like after it's been frozen and then thawed out, but the jar I kept aside and put in the fridge yesterday is AWESOME!!! This will forever be my salsa recipe! I boiled it a little longer too, but other than that, made exactly according to your directions. I'd rate it a 'delayed warmth' mild salsa. DEEEEELICIOUS! Sep 13/06: FINALLY ran out of bought salsa and got to open a frozen container of this -- YUM! A little thinner than the original jar I had kept in the fridge, but still very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      This was an easy recipe and tastes great. It freezes well. The only change I made was to add a little more garlic and a little chili powder... just to spice it up a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      Yeah - last of the tomato harvest finally done. We had to boil couple more hours to get the thicker consistency we wanted. We froze in medium size freezer bags. Great flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      I was looking for a salsa freezer recipe because I just didn't feel like canning but had a huge amount of tomatoes to use up. I followed the recipe but with less hot peppers, salt and lime juice, cooked it, pureed it and it tasted awesome! The best salsa I've made. I prefer fresh chopped salsa, but even with canning the tomatoes/peppers are too soft since it has to be cooked. So this is the next best thing, and so easy! I've already tried some of my first frozen batch and it tastes as good as it did before it was frozen. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Very yummy! The whole family loved this salsa :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Diner's Freezer Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (10558 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.8
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    10%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4741.5 mg
    197%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 21.6 g
    86%
    Sugars 47.1 g
    188%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites