11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this as written and made 4 mini meat loaves. They were very good. I will use this to make the meatballs in the near future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 08, 2011

Wonderful basic recipe for meatloaf, meatballs, or patties too. I made some into hamburger patties, fried until well done in a little olive oil; drained well; placed in a single layer in a casserole dish; spread with some spaghetti sauce; sprinkled with freshly grated Parmesan cheese; baked until cheese was melted. Served with spaghetti, tossed salad and thick slices of French bread. I made another batch into Italian style meatballs, adding minced garlic and Parmesan cheese, and used my cookie scoop with a release lever to get them an even size, froze the meatballs in a single layer on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. When frozen I placed them in a freezer bag, labelled and dated, for later use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan December 12, 2008

A very good basic meatloaf recipe. For allergy reasons I had to use spring onion/scallion for the onion and used Jatz crackers for the saltines as that is what I had. I also doubled the recipe but only needed to use 1/2 cup of milk. I made it into 6 mini meatloafs and 3 muffin size ones. The mini meatloafs took 45 minutes to cook and the muffin ones 30 minutes. When making again I will definately add other flavours such as garlic and/or worcestershire sauce. Thank you diner524, made for Everyday is a Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 08, 2008

I've never made meatballs before, great recipe here! I used 1/4 of an onion per 1 pound of ground beef and I felt there was plenty of onion in the mixture, I couldn't imagine trying to use any more onion. I baked the meatballs for 25 minutes at 350. I brought them to a football party in a cranberry sauce and everyone said they were really good and could tell they were homemade.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI December 08, 2008

Not bad but could use a lot more seasonings at least for my tastes. I added them raw into sauce simmering in the crock pot for an easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle December 01, 2008

Awesome! I adjusted the recipe and used about 6lbs ground beef, and added some fresh garlic to the recipe. I made 50 meatballs, a meatloaf that is in my crockpot, waiting to be cooked tomorrow and 5 oval patties that I am freezing on a cookie sheet that I will use for salisbury steak. I wanted to post my review as soon as the meatball came out and I tasted them. They are wonderful! So glad I picked this recipe. I will make this one again and again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi October 28, 2008

Nice recipe, I also have a very similar one for meatballs but also includes 1-2 cloves of crushed garlic and 2TBsp of grated dry parmesan cheese. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann.thornhill September 10, 2008

This is my mom's recipe too and we love it--bakes faster if made into patties and baked. For topping I use the following poured over before baking: Mix together: 3 Tablespoons brown sugar 1/4 cup catsup 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg 1 teaspoon dry mustard Wonderful & different!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
819779 September 09, 2008

I was in the mood for spaghetti, so decided to make these meatballs. Yum! Very good. I still have lots that I froze for another time. Thanks Lynn. Made for 1-2-3 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 27, 2008

A meatloaf to come home to. Excellent and so very nice and juicy. I didn't have any issues with to much liquid, it worked out perfectly. I used the cracker crumb as instructed and onion. Nice ketchup on top. What else could you ask for? Added a bit of Parmesan cheese to the top. Thanks, diner! Made for *ZWT4*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 25, 2008
Diner Meatloaf and Meatballs Mixture