9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Lots of flavor! I sauteed 1 cup diced onion instead of using onion powder, doubled the garlic & dill to this and then added 2 Tbs Parmesan & 2 Tbs cream cheese along with the 1/2 C grated cheddar at the end. I used jasmine rice (which cooked much faster) because that's what I had on hand and it turned out wonderfully. I omitted the salt because the cheeses I used had more than enough. We will definitely be adding this one to the regular rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sNic23 January 02, 2013

How wonderful! I only used 1 1/2 cups rice, and wanted to make it without oil, so I brought 4 cups of water to a boil in my pan, then added all the seasonings and the rice. I did sub black pepper for the cayenne so the kiddos would eat it. I cooked it, covered over low heat for 20 minutes, then stirred in about 3 tablespoons each of fat free parmesan and sharp cheddar cheese. I could have easily eaten every grain without sharing with my family! This rice was so perfectly seasoned and so delicous! A real winner! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom September 11, 2008

We abslolutely love this rice...goes great with any grilled meat. Versatile, flavorful and absolutely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou June 15, 2008

It was very good. I've been looking for a simple tasty rice recipe. I think I found it! I used parmesan reggiano and next time I'm only going to use 1/4 tsp cayenne, because it had a little too much kick for my taste -- my 2 year old and husband thought it was great as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelodriscoll January 03, 2008

I halved this recipe for just 2 of us & served it w/marinated & oven-baked chicken wings. The recipe did not suggest a cheese to use & this was not mentioned in other reviews, so I used Parmesan. The dish is full of flavor, but was a bit dry (prob my doing). I creamed it up a bit by adding 2 tbsp of cream cheese & it was perfect for us! Pls see my rating system - a very worthy 4*. This will be repeated & thx for sharing this recipe w/us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 12, 2006

made this last night after reading a post by Che~Sara. I didnt have dill, but it still turned out great. I used your "third knuckle from the sun" technique, but after ten minutes it was sticking. I used basmati rice and found I needed 4 cups of water. This recipe makes ALOT of rice, but it tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills August 12, 2006

YUM!!!!!!!!!! This rice was sooooooooo good! My dh isn't too much into rice and this he had seconds of. I cooked as directed but in the rice cooker. I really liked the addition of olive oil because it did keep it from boiling over which made cleanup easier. I will make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` June 17, 2006

Paula G must have read this wrong because the cheese isnt added til after the rice is cooked

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renie 77 February 02, 2006

This is a well seasoned rice dish. The cayenne provides a nice kick that compliments fish very well. I served this with Baked Parmesan Fish Baked Parmesan Fish and Fancy Green Beans Fancy Green Beans. The only thing I changed was to wait until the rice was cooked before adding the cheese. I'm not sure how it would have worked cooking the cheese with the rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG January 31, 2006
Dilly Cheesy Rice