12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was pretty good .. I used 1 tablespoon of freshly chopped dill .. I will add a bit more butter next time, thanks for the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa November 30, 2002

"Very Good Potatoes"!!! I made a few adjustments though. I used 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/8 tsp. pepper and 1/4 tsp. dried dill. I also heated up the butter & cream (not milk) before adding to the mashed potatoes. Using real cream, (not milk) always make mashed potatoes taste better, and creamier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess December 27, 2003

With the number of revisions people are making to such a basic recipe, I am shocked that they are leaving so many stars. This recipe is good is you've never cooked before, I guess. You're supposed to use white pepper in mashed potatoes so there aren't black specks in your potatoes. And why not use fresh dill? If you're going to use dried dill you may as well use dried potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous1092589038 September 19, 2014

Delicious! Used fresh dill instead of dry, about 2 t. These potatoes had a nice tang from the sour cream and the dill wasn't too overpowering. We really enjoyed them. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 02, 2014

I happened to have a lot of fresh dill and sour cream in the house, so I made this, using about 8 organic potatoes, along with Organic Valley milk, butter salt and pepper. I meant to add some fresh garlic, and will do that next time. Still, family loved it - good for a cold winter night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shahlabug February 02, 2014

Good and creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curlybiscuit January 28, 2012

To make these lighter, I used low fat milk and sour cream, and margarine instead of butter. They still were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummrabiah September 12, 2008

This once again proves you don't need a lot of expensive ingredients and complicated steps to produce a great tasting dish. These "taters" really hit the spot. The dill adds nice color and flavor. It will be fun to experiment with other herbs too. Thanks for sharing, evewitch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot March 11, 2008

Sometimes it is little additions like this (the dill) that make such a surprising and subtle difference. The mashed potatoes were much more visually appealing too. Thanks, evewitch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers December 02, 2006

I doubled the recipe and glad I did. Used 2 tablespoons fresh dill and was great. Nice and creamy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 06, 2005
Dill-Sour Cream Mashed Potatoes