Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dill Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dill Pickles

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      OOHHHHH! Nice and crunchy, and I love that I could add more garlic for a really zesty pickle. These turned out just the way I like 'em. Thanks, Mirj, for making my first try at pickles a success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      These pickles were great I added some peppercorns to the bottle and instead of 4 cloves of garlic I added 6. I also changed the sugar to a teaspoon instead of tablespoon and They taste just like clausens. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      I love that you use actual spices. Ive seen toooo many pickle recipes that just have salt and white vinegar. Thanks for the recipe and keep curing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Wow! This recipe made making pickles so easy. Yummy almost-Clausen noms. Like others, I added garlic and peppercorns and cut down on sugar (I used brown sugar instead of white). I also added 1/4 tsp mustard seed, because I saw some in a handy jar of Clausen's. One thing I noticed is that the cucumbers shrank a bit as they became pickles, so it doesn't really hurt if you stuff those quart jars as much as possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! Just like you in the beginning, I also cannot believe how easy it is to make gherkins! Yes, I still call them gherkins because I grew up calling them that... pickles to me are pickled onions! These are made weekly in my home and because the turnover is so fast, I don't even bother with a sterilized jar anymore... they go straight into their own tupperware container and into the fridge. In fact, when they start running low, I chuck more cucumbers in on top of the older ones so they never run out of these crispy crunchy beauties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Yum Yum. Pickles are nice and crisp. I modified the recipe like Brian B. did and these pickles are DELICIOUS!! The hardest part was waiting for seven days to taste them, but it is well worth it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      My family really enjoyed the flavor of these pickles. The only complaint was that they were soft/soggy. We were expecting a crunchy dill pickle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This is a very simple recipe. I have made many jars of pickles this summer with all the ingredients from my garden. I have made whole pickles, hot dog spears and hamburger slices. I can't keep them around cos my family loves these better than the store brand. My family memebers are asking me for the recipe. Excellent recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Sorry Mirj, made these 3 weeks ago, not sure what happened but they turned out very soft, so far. my cukes may have been too big, in any case I'll leave then for a while and see what happens, hope it works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I didn't have whole garlic, so I used some paste instead, and dried dill. They smell delicious, and I can't wait for seven days to be up to try them (and leave a complete review) :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I used Brian B. suggestions...6 cloves of garlic instead of 4, reduced the sugar to 1 tsp., added peppercorns to the jars. Taste just like Clausen's. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I'm so sorry to say this, but I have to change my review on this recipe. I followed the directions to the tee, all my jars sealed and they looked perfect. The first jar tasted pretty good too, not great, but pretty good. It has now been about a month and the other jars have been spoiled. The pickles are mushy and the pickle itself has gone rotten. This recipe didn't work for me. Maybe it's not possible to can dill pickles. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Very good, quick, and easy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      These pickles are crispy and YUM! We used the same recipe for our banana & cherry peppers and they turned out great too! They do taste a lot like Clausen's. We only used 1 tsp. of sugar and no bay leaf, as well. We love that we can make one jar at a time since our garden is small. This was our first attempt at making pickles and we were thrilled with the results. Thank you Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I am not sure what i did wrong but mine turned out horrible. I love pickles but i wont even eat these. YUK!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Really good pickles and easy to make but I add extra vinegar because I like them a little more sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Mirj: Ive made this recipe 4 times and made 3 quarts(1litre)each time. I have only eaten 1 qt. My best friend steals them as fast as I can make them. This is an execllent recipe for dill pickles. They are easy to make and, as my friend can attest. very very good. Jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago, it is excellent, made 6 more quarts today. I used 1 tsp. of sugar and no bay leaf, This is a fantastic recipe and no processing required, it is fast and clean. Ready to eat in about a week. Thanks You, Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      These are very, very good although not like any pickle I've tasted before. I was striving to make the ones that taste like Batampte pickles or Claussen and these don't come close but I'll make them again for the unusual taste which must come from the bay leaf since everything else is the norm. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I made these a couple of years ago - way before I became more involved in Zaar forums & before I became a premium member! They were EASY, crisp and tasty! And, they have now all gone.....obviously! When I get hold of some more cucumbers, later in the season, I will make them & photograph them again! Thanks for this recipe Mirj, I still have the printed recipe in my scrapbook!! P.S. As I recall - I made them exactly as stated and I felt that they were just a bit on the sweet side - but not much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dill Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 10.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    15%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 350.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites