23 Reviews

OOHHHHH! Nice and crunchy, and I love that I could add more garlic for a really zesty pickle. These turned out just the way I like 'em. Thanks, Mirj, for making my first try at pickles a success.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi March 22, 2003

These pickles were great I added some peppercorns to the bottle and instead of 4 cloves of garlic I added 6. I also changed the sugar to a teaspoon instead of tablespoon and They taste just like clausens. Thanks for the recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian B. August 30, 2006

I love that you use actual spices. Ive seen toooo many pickle recipes that just have salt and white vinegar. Thanks for the recipe and keep curing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dl23ink May 29, 2013

Wow! This recipe made making pickles so easy. Yummy almost-Clausen noms. Like others, I added garlic and peppercorns and cut down on sugar (I used brown sugar instead of white). I also added 1/4 tsp mustard seed, because I saw some in a handy jar of Clausen's. One thing I noticed is that the cucumbers shrank a bit as they became pickles, so it doesn't really hurt if you stuff those quart jars as much as possible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ohmikeghod November 12, 2010

Fantastic recipe! Just like you in the beginning, I also cannot believe how easy it is to make gherkins! Yes, I still call them gherkins because I grew up calling them that... pickles to me are pickled onions! These are made weekly in my home and because the turnover is so fast, I don't even bother with a sterilized jar anymore... they go straight into their own tupperware container and into the fridge. In fact, when they start running low, I chuck more cucumbers in on top of the older ones so they never run out of these crispy crunchy beauties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bokenpop aka Madeleine August 24, 2010

Yum Yum. Pickles are nice and crisp. I modified the recipe like Brian B. did and these pickles are DELICIOUS!! The hardest part was waiting for seven days to taste them, but it is well worth it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scooterskitten June 29, 2010

My family really enjoyed the flavor of these pickles. The only complaint was that they were soft/soggy. We were expecting a crunchy dill pickle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseAmy31 March 12, 2010

This is a very simple recipe. I have made many jars of pickles this summer with all the ingredients from my garden. I have made whole pickles, hot dog spears and hamburger slices. I can't keep them around cos my family loves these better than the store brand. My family memebers are asking me for the recipe. Excellent recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JensKitchen September 28, 2009

Sorry Mirj, made these 3 weeks ago, not sure what happened but they turned out very soft, so far. my cukes may have been too big, in any case I'll leave then for a while and see what happens, hope it works!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 27, 2009

I didn't have whole garlic, so I used some paste instead, and dried dill. They smell delicious, and I can't wait for seven days to be up to try them (and leave a complete review) :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 09, 2009
Dill Pickles