41 Reviews

This is truly delicious! It is the rare EASY crockpot meal that is suitable for company! We love it and have made it several times. I use about 1/4 - 1/2 c finely chopped onion in place of the dried onions. Also, since we usually don't have honey-dijon mustard in the house, I substitute 1 T honey and 1 T dijon for the 2T honey-dijon. These substitutions work out just great. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieZ May 22, 2011

I'm really sorry, but these flavors just didn't seem to go together for us. (I completely omitted the orange zest b/c of others' reviews.) My roast was very large, so I doubled the topping ingredients except the cranberries and the onions. Still, the onions were overpowering (and I love onions)! Part-way through cooking, I peeked and noticed that everything looked so dry. I added some water. I'm glad I did because when it was done I had enough broth to make gravy - which ended up being the best part of the dish. The leftovers sat in the fridge for several days before I finally pitched them. With so many great reviews, I just can't figure out what went wrong.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 September 03, 2010

Delicious!! I used pork chops (cut up in chunks) instead of the roast, so it only took 2 hours on low in the slow cooker. I also substituted the orange rind with about 2 oz of orange juice. I served it with mashed potatoes and stuffing! Very easy! Turned out great! Will be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lady July 13, 2009

This hit the spot. Not only was it easy, but it was soooo good. I served with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. Redonkulous... probably one of my favorite meals that I've made! I really enjoyed the tangy sweetness of the berries, honey dijon, and orange with the pork. Mmmmm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C January 22, 2009

Top Notch recipe, I followed it exactly using the 3 hour high heat. Don't skimp on the cranberries, honey, Dijon, or orange zest as they create a great sauce. Two pre teens loved this. I served it with some roasted vegetables. Know the weight of your pork so you can cook it precisely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cmsdrizzt January 19, 2013

I'm such a novice...I used pork tenderloins and totally overcooked them, but it was still delicious. Next time I'll try it with a roast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne December 26, 2011

This was so easy to make! I think it was too sweet, but that's probably because I used Craisins instead of straight dried cranberries. I'm not sure I've ever seen dried, unsweetened cranberries before? Anyway, the 1 cup of Craisins overpowered all the other flavors going on in the dish so next time if I use them I'll probably only put in 1/2 cup (if that). I would also probably increase the amount of dijon mustard for more of a savory taste instead of the sweetness. Overall, my family loved it and told me to give it 4 stars! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brittta December 27, 2009

Whole family loved this. It takes about a minute to get it in the crockpot, and then at dinner time you have a delicious meal waiting for you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB October 25, 2009

Gotta love the savory/sweet/spicy component going on in this recipe. You can use almost any lean cut of pork and it always comes out delicious. Do yourself a favor and do not skip the orange zest here, it adds an excellent flavor to the meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kolleen1021 October 01, 2009

I am giving this recipe 5 stars even though I changed it a little becuase I had no idea that such a delicious piece of meat could come out of a crock pot. Also, it must be pretty idiot-proof, because of the mistakes I made. I added fresh cranberries, then realized later that dried probably have a lot of sugar added, so I scraped 'em off and threw 'em out. I then drizzled soy sauce on the chops because the orange taste was a little overwhelming. I seared the chops first, which I am usually too lazy to do, but I highly recommend because I think it probably helped to seal in the dry rub and kept the pork from having that mushy crock pot texture. I just got one of those thermometers that stays in the meat while it was cooking, set it to pork, and took them out when it told me to. Anyway, I only used this recipe because I had cranberries to get rid of, but I will definitely make this again (probably sans cranberries again), as my husband loves pork.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation January 03, 2009
Dijon Pork Roast With Cranberries (Crock Pot)