Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dijon Chicken Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dijon Chicken Mushroom Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2012

      Very Tasty. Based on previous reviews and what I had on hand I made a few changes. I added a minced shallot and used a whole onion in with the mushrooms ( which I added a few white ones in with the browns . I used all chicken broth and didn't reduce it quite as much since I had added extra veges. I also added a little more Dijon and sour cream . I don't really think it needed all the extras but I was in a 'use up" mode

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This was delicious, although we made some fairly substantial changes. We did as another reviewer recommended and added about 3 cups of chopped fresh spinach that we needed to use up. We also used about 3 tablespoons of fresh chopped tarragon because that needed to be used up, too... and wow am I ever glad we did! That totally made the dish! Because tarragon has such a delicate flavor, we used only 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme. We also used chicken thighs instead of breasts (the texture of the thighs worked better with the mushrooms than breasts would have). The only thing about the dish that wasn't perfect was that the sauce wasn't creamy enough. We used light sour cream, so that may be why. Next time, we may add extra sour cream and see if that makes it creamier. Overall, it was a hit! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I really used this recipe as more of a guideline for a fairly good stroganoff. I added a few ingredients - 1 tsp dried mustard, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/8 tsp garlic powder, and 2 cups of chopped spinach. I also increased the mustard, salt and pepper, decreased the thyme, doubled the amount of mushrooms and used an entire onion. For the stock, I used all chicken stock, fortified with the mushroom stems (I simmered it for a good 30 minutes) for more flavor. Instead of sour cream, I used strained nonfat yogurt. I sauteed the mushrooms, onion and garlic in a couple tablespoons of the broth before adding the seasonings (except the Dijon mustard), chicken and the rest of the stock (from which I had removed the mushroom stems). After about 20 minutes, I strained the chicken and mushrooms out, then reduced the stock to about 1/2 cup. I combined 3 Tbsp mustard with 1 cup of the yogurt to maintain some of the zesty flavor, then added that with the chopped spinach, once I removed the pan from the heat. I thought this was a good recipe, I will try it again, upping the seasonings a little bit more because it was still a touch bland. I am very impressed with how tasty it is without any additional fat. Thank you for a nice, healthy recipe to add to my repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Even with the addition of some extra pepper and some worcestershire sauce, this was still quite bland. It needs something to kick it up. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Yum! Will probably pull the cover off sooner while the chicken cooks to thicken it up a little quicker. Did add a little more sour cream - 1/3c low fat and 1/3c fat free, and it gave it the taste my hamburger stroganoff has, but the thyme added a wonderful twist with the chicken! I used button mushrooms, since that's what I had, and used the whole can of chicken broth with an additional 2oz of water, but it was still terrific. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      When I tagged it I didn't know it would be so good. I knew DH wouldn't like it as much as me. But finally he liked it. He said it was enough sour cream (I used fat-free). I used reduced-sodium chicken broth. I used 1 small onion. I used regular mushrooms. And I served it over vermicelle cause I was out of egg noodles. Thanks Flower. Made for Alphabet chef game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This is yummy and so easy to make. It's not heavy like some Stroganoff's can be and doesn't sit on you. Will definitely been making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      My husband enjoyed this recipe, but I felt it was a little bland and couldn't put my finger on exactly what to add to brighten the flavors. Leftovers reheated well for DH the next day. Thank you Flower7 for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      This was a good, easy dish, but I felt it lacked something, thus the 4 stars instead of 5. Maybe it was because I used full-fat ingredients? ;o) I will try again and tweak it around some. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      This is a wonderful dish. Tastes Great but don't look for leftovers. Instead of pepper I used some hot sauce and used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      My boyfriend never had stroganoff before. When I cooked this recipe though, he quickly fell in love with it!!! I love this because the recipe calls for chicken, instead of the usual beef stroganoff. we're trying to stay away from beef and this is truly great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      Easy to make, came together quickly, tasted fantastic - couldn't ask for more! I was out of sour cream, so I subbed creme fraiche. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      I am totally BUMMED! We ate the last of this for lunch today, and it's now all gone! :( !! It was DELICIOUS!!! TY very much for a GREAT recipe!! (The only thing I did different was I only added 1 Tbl. mustard instead of 2, and it was PERFECT for us!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dijon Chicken Mushroom Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 365.5
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    22%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 120.3 mg
    40%
    Sodium 622.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 33.4 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites