14 Reviews

I liked this recipe, but like many other reviewers, made some changes. Because I had to go to work, I combined a can of low-sodium chicken broth, the onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and thyme in my slow cooker, and then added two bone-in chicken breasts. I cooked this on low for 3 hours. When I got home, I removed the chicken breasts from the slow cooker and poured the cooking liquid into a skillet. I heated the liquid to a boil over med-high heat and added 2 tbls of honey mustard (we were out of dijon) while I chopped the mushrooms and cooked chicken. I sauteed the mushrooms in some olive oil, then added them and the chopped chicken to the sauce in the skillet. Finally, I added plain non-fat Greek yogurt as a substitute for the sour cream, and let it all reduce for 15 minutes. This was great served over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef jen_hart June 19, 2016

Very Tasty. Based on previous reviews and what I had on hand I made a few changes. I added a minced shallot and used a whole onion in with the mushrooms ( which I added a few white ones in with the browns . I used all chicken broth and didn't reduce it quite as much since I had added extra veges. I also added a little more Dijon and sour cream . I don't really think it needed all the extras but I was in a 'use up" mode

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saltygal December 04, 2012

This was delicious, although we made some fairly substantial changes. We did as another reviewer recommended and added about 3 cups of chopped fresh spinach that we needed to use up. We also used about 3 tablespoons of fresh chopped tarragon because that needed to be used up, too... and wow am I ever glad we did! That totally made the dish! Because tarragon has such a delicate flavor, we used only 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme. We also used chicken thighs instead of breasts (the texture of the thighs worked better with the mushrooms than breasts would have). The only thing about the dish that wasn't perfect was that the sauce wasn't creamy enough. We used light sour cream, so that may be why. Next time, we may add extra sour cream and see if that makes it creamier. Overall, it was a hit! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D March 07, 2011

I really used this recipe as more of a guideline for a fairly good stroganoff. I added a few ingredients - 1 tsp dried mustard, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/8 tsp garlic powder, and 2 cups of chopped spinach. I also increased the mustard, salt and pepper, decreased the thyme, doubled the amount of mushrooms and used an entire onion. For the stock, I used all chicken stock, fortified with the mushroom stems (I simmered it for a good 30 minutes) for more flavor. Instead of sour cream, I used strained nonfat yogurt. I sauteed the mushrooms, onion and garlic in a couple tablespoons of the broth before adding the seasonings (except the Dijon mustard), chicken and the rest of the stock (from which I had removed the mushroom stems). After about 20 minutes, I strained the chicken and mushrooms out, then reduced the stock to about 1/2 cup. I combined 3 Tbsp mustard with 1 cup of the yogurt to maintain some of the zesty flavor, then added that with the chopped spinach, once I removed the pan from the heat. I thought this was a good recipe, I will try it again, upping the seasonings a little bit more because it was still a touch bland. I am very impressed with how tasty it is without any additional fat. Thank you for a nice, healthy recipe to add to my repertoire.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 March 06, 2010

Even with the addition of some extra pepper and some worcestershire sauce, this was still quite bland. It needs something to kick it up. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 July 24, 2009

Yum! Will probably pull the cover off sooner while the chicken cooks to thicken it up a little quicker. Did add a little more sour cream - 1/3c low fat and 1/3c fat free, and it gave it the taste my hamburger stroganoff has, but the thyme added a wonderful twist with the chicken! I used button mushrooms, since that's what I had, and used the whole can of chicken broth with an additional 2oz of water, but it was still terrific. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom July 07, 2009

When I tagged it I didn't know it would be so good. I knew DH wouldn't like it as much as me. But finally he liked it. He said it was enough sour cream (I used fat-free). I used reduced-sodium chicken broth. I used 1 small onion. I used regular mushrooms. And I served it over vermicelle cause I was out of egg noodles. Thanks Flower. Made for Alphabet chef game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 07, 2009

This is yummy and so easy to make. It's not heavy like some Stroganoff's can be and doesn't sit on you. Will definitely been making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies April 22, 2008

My husband enjoyed this recipe, but I felt it was a little bland and couldn't put my finger on exactly what to add to brighten the flavors. Leftovers reheated well for DH the next day. Thank you Flower7 for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ November 21, 2006

This was a good, easy dish, but I felt it lacked something, thus the 4 stars instead of 5. Maybe it was because I used full-fat ingredients? ;o) I will try again and tweak it around some. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) August 10, 2005
Dijon Chicken Mushroom Stroganoff