37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DELICIOUS! These are so yummy. I used half the amount of sugar because of the natural sweetness of the beets. The heat from the Dijon, the acidity of the vinegar & lemon, and the earthiness of the beets make a divine combination. Can't wait to see how good these are tomorrow after marinating overnight. Thanks for the awesomely addicting recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queendawnita March 24, 2012

Excellent and delicous! Very easy to make and wonderfully flavorful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julietteb333 December 15, 2011

Neither my husband nor I enjoyed these- and we love beets. For me, it was the vinegar-y taste that did me in.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LynneBethany October 27, 2012

these were delicious! they made a beautiful and tasty dinner salad - we lay the beets on a bed of spinach and arugula, drizzled with the extra sauce, and topped with shaved parmesan and walnuts. will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunana1 July 01, 2008

Yum! I've always wanted to do something with beets, and now I know what! These were so good on their own, but even better over a nice salad. The sweet/sour juice drips onto the lettuce and adds to the salad dressing. I'll put them over spinach next time. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Pizza June 19, 2003

The flavor of these beets is so very good. A great sweet-sour combination. I make Harvard beets a lot and we liked these better. I served them warm along side broiled chicken breasts. A definite keeper! Thank you MaeEast!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz June 02, 2003

A sweet and tart beet dish . I baked my beets (my new favorite way of doing them)and they were so sweet and earthy , and this dressing REALLY brought out the flavor !!!!Really YUMMY !!! Thank You MaeEast !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P May 24, 2003

Three thumbs up! Really a delightful combination of sweet and sour taste. Went very well with our grilled sword fish. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejriii May 19, 2003

Five stars all around from this household! This is my newest favorite recipe for beets. I love how simple it is to prepare, but it really packs a punch in terms of flavor. I love the tangy sweet and sour taste. I used about a pound of beets for this recipe. I will definitely make this recipe often, especially this time of year when I have lots of beets to go around. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel November 19, 2013

YUM!! I had no idea how much I loved beets!! Pretty much followed as stated, but I decreased the sugar by 1/4 (used a sugar/stevia blend tho that is sweeter than straight sugar). I LOVED it but my BF thought the mustard was a little too strong. Next time, I think I'll just cube the beets before cooking tho - I had some larger beets and they didn't cook through as well as my smaller ones. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! (And just a side note, my beets were already going soft in the fridge but I still used them and it turned out fine!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee October 10, 2012
Dijon Beets