13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm giving this only a moderate rating since my combinatination of flavors was a HUGE bust. The spring and moistness of the cake was wonderful. I chose orange cake with Diet Sierra Mist (lemon lime) thinking it would be kinda a creamsicle but BLECH. I tossed it I need to mix Diet cream soda with the orange to get that flavor. DUH Beware of orange and lemon lime. haha I will try making the cake again. BTW it is 5 points plus on the new Weight Watcher plan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha wanna-be Melissa March 19, 2011

Tried this mixture...cupcakes looked great coming out of the oven but a few minutes later when they had cooled a bit and I tried one they were gummy inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdipiazza March 21, 2014

Who would think this recipe would be so great! Amazing and so easy! Believe me I was skeptical!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jandmhall1227 February 27, 2014

WOW!!! I don't think ill ever make a regular cake again! I made cupcakes and frosted them with whipped Topping and strawberry's! SupBurb!! baked up Beautifuly! fluffy and moist! I used diet Moutain Dew and a white cake mix! Im not even going to tell my family that they are lower in calories...lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 07, 2013

I made this recipe tonight with chocolate cake mix and diet cake, but I used a sugar free cake mix. Delicious and I'm sure this lowers the calories too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kameeder January 30, 2012

OMG!!! This was sooo good!! I am a WW member and this fits right into my plan. My kids didn't know any different when I gave it to them. I used chocolate/diet coke and baked it for 3 minutes less than the pkg called for. I can see where people say it is a little crumbier. Mine came out moist and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wkst February 12, 2010

I was out of eggs but needed a cake! This recipe is outstanding!! I used yellow cake mix, and Diet Sunkist sparkling lemonade, SO GOOD! I also put in a couple cups of chocolate chips, so when the cake was done it tasted like chocolate chip cookie dough. I also used cream cheese frosting on top. The cake came out super moist and almost more brownie like than cake like, which was exactly what I love! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey November 19, 2009

i mixed yellow cake with diet dr. pepper and made two dozen cupcakes that i "frosted" with cool whip free and a roll in sliced almonds. my goodness, so easy and delicious. and for those of you on ww, these cupcakes are only 2 points a piece!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rileyk2 September 23, 2009

I'll admit I was quite skeptical about this, but was pleasantly surprised (chocolate cake mix with Diet Coke). While it seemed to fall a bit in the middle, it wasn't too bad; it just didn't mound in the middle like it usually does. Also, the crumb is quite fine and the cake almost falls apart, but I kept it in the fridge because of the frosting, anyway and it held together much better after it was chilled. Thanks so much for posting this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen June 24, 2009

I have done this several times. You can cut up the cake and layer it in a bowl with strawberries and coll whip. Very good and low in calories!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef pnannenga September 12, 2008
Diet Soda Cake