101 Reviews

I made this recipe a few times . The first time I made it exactly to the recipe. The other times a made a few adjustments. I use bone in Skinless chicken thighs. I add about a 1/4 cup brown sugar to the Ketchup and Diet Cola, and instead of cooking this on the stove top. I cook it all day in the Crock Pot. The chicken falls off the bone and it's been a huge hit at my Church Functions.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beachwaves1991_5150668 May 08, 2011

I was excited to see a recipe so simple so I tried this one. For me it turned out WAY to ketchupy (if thats a word ;) ). I even did as the other raters said with substituting part of the ketchup for tomoatoe paste. It was blah.. My husband and I both ate it but it wasnt something that after eating we said "Wow that was good." Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia J. Parsons June 01, 2010

I have been making Diet Coke Chicken for years. I started out using Diet Coke and I always wondered if regular Coke worked as well. To my surprise, it did! I have always used chicken tenderloins (only difference from chicken breast, more chicken, serves more people.) But my ketchup and Coke/Diet Coke I've always mixed equal parts, 1 c. Ketchup & 1 c. Coke/Diet Coke, 2 c. Ketchup & 2 c. Coke/Diet Coke. Using to much Ketchup, tastes just like Ketchup. Use too much Coke, causes the sauce to be really thin and it doesn't stuck to your chicken. Always works for me!!! Hope this helps. Enjoy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin L. July 09, 2015

I gave this 5 stars even though I didn't make it, I didn't want to mess up your ratings. There are many articles that can be found online about how heating Aspartame is not a good thing. I was taught to never ever do this by a few chefs I worked for. I attached a link that might be of interest. There are many other references all over the web.<br/><br/>http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/11/06/aspartame-most-dangerous-substance-added-to-food.aspx

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Rock & Roll BBQ Chef December 11, 2013

Tried this recipe today for lunch. It was GREAT and SO SIMPLE! I can't believe the result come out so good! Definitely will cook it again! Thank you Judy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen9898 October 12, 2012

I make this all the time!!! My toddler even eats it!! We add green peppers for flavor. We serve with brown rice and broccoli! Delicious!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bowser625 August 23, 2009

I made it with the orange soda . Pretty good

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly T. September 21, 2015

Made as directed. Easy recipe, and I like that. Mixed reviews from kids - one loved it, one just okay. I liked it okay, I think it's really sweet. I would make it in the future and will try it with the orange soda, too. Thanks for posting, judyjudyjudy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick December 01, 2013

This is such an easy dish to make yet tasty enough to serve to company. I served this with loaded mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Great meal. I used a store brand Diet cola and it turned out great!!!! Thank you for sharing with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 07, 2013

I actually make this all the time but instead of adding ketchup I boil tomatoes and then put them in the blender with 2 chipotle chile's in adobo and 1/4 cup water. Blend for about 2 minutes and add to the chicken. Its spicy and sweet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny_Toodles September 22, 2009
Diet Cola Chicken