Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Died and Gone to Heaven Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Died and Gone to Heaven Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2001

      Yummy! I made this on Nov 24th'2001 for my brother's b'day party. Everyone freaked out on it. It's delicious! I garnished it with blanched and chopped almonds and red glaze cherries. Besides that, I cut it into 2 halves in the middle so as to have 2 cakes and then, spread a layer of Lali's Homemade Chocolate Pudding on one cake and covered it with the other. Then, on top of this one, I put some more of her pudding. It was "YUM"! I clicked a snap too so as to remember how much I LOVED this cake. "This is her gift to me", my brother says:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2002

      Mirjam, this recipe is absolutely delicious! Rich, moist and deep dark chocolate! This cake really needs no frosting, it stands on it's own, although my husband loved the icing as well! If you are a true chocolate lover, you must try this wonderful cake! I made it exactly as the recipe called for. Thanks for posting this one, Mirjam. My family truly enjoyed every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      I have Wings! A chocolate Angel! This is fantastic--moist, light and deep chocolate flavor. On a scale of 1-10 this is a 12!!! Chocolate makes me happy & this did it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2001

      mmmmmmmmmm....chocolate...drooooollll.... I have an annoying habbit of adding more chocolate than a recipe adds for, but I think this one covers it *LOL* great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2002

      simply the best!!!!!!!!!thankyou for the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2002

      This is without a doubt the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted!! I know this is the one I will make from now on!! I loved it and so did everyone else .. the only thing I didnt like was the glaze, I think regular frosting would be better .. thank you Mirjam!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2002

      Very easy to make and very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      I have this very same recipe in my files for years now and it is the best. When I was scanning through the recipes here, I noticed it again. Now that reminds me to make it again as it has been awhile since I've done it. Very, Very Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      Mirj, this is one unbelievable cake! I made this two weeks ago and took it into work...no one could believe how wonderful a lowfat cake could taste. I cut the slices fairly thin, so we probably got almost twice the servings. We gobbled it up quickly because it was just so incredible. The weird thing is that the cake NEVER lost that wonderful moistness. All of the flavors were right on the money. I used a chocolate & cherry coffee, and the slight hint of the cherry was nice. That's the only thing I did differently. I can't wait to make this with the Green Mountain Spicy Egg Nog coffee for the holidays. Delicious, unusual, and the best chocolate cake I've ever had - thanks, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      Try this cake with chocolate raspberry icecream. I did and it tasted like heaven. I think this cake might be better as a jellyroll icecream cake (though not low fat).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      I saw and tried this recipe 2 years ago. It is the only "scratch" chocolate cake I make. Who DOES ever have buttermilk in their house?? lol I use a can of evaporated milk and 2 tbsp of vinegar to make the buttermilk. Also my frosting consists of 1lg container of whipped cream cheese, butter, confectioners sugar, vanilla and cocoa. YUmmmmm... NO, not too low fat, but....does the TRICK and NEVER stays longer than a day in my house. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      this is the best chocolate cake i have ever tasted, i did use just regular milk instead of buttermilk, because no one in the family likes buttermilk, but it still tasted great, i made this i think 3 times since the new year, it is not too sweet , the last time i made it i did'nt put any icining on it and it was great, i once left it for a week in the fride and it was still moist, if i can put more stars on this recipe, i would it is that good. thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I made up this mix and stuck it in the fridge. Whenever I want a treat, I just stick some in a mug and microwave it. With a few semi-sweet chocolate chips mixed in, it's divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I baked it for a birthday, but since it's a weekend trip away from home so I just made a basic cake and drizzled with ganache (instead of your topping) It was very dense, quite rich and not too sweet, I was actually looking for one that has a crunchy top but this isn't the one. Nonetheless, everyone enjoyed this cake but I didn't get rave responses like I usually get with all other recipes. I replaced oil with butter to give it a more flavourful , it was otherwise the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This is definitely my staple recipe for chocolate cake!!! Moist, flavorful & rich cake minus the calories. I tweaked a bit by using combo of dark brown sugar and granulated sugar for light brown sugar. Besides, I didn't have any buttermilk so I replace it with a mixture of plain yogurt with skim milk. I halved the recipe and bakes it in my 9" cake pan without any problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I have made this cake several times, we love it! Moist, rich but not too sweet. I get lots of requests to make this cake. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      It's not my absolute favorite cake, but it is an wonderful light alternative to full fat indulgences. This originally appeared in Eating Well which is one of my favorite subscriptions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      I made this cake again and it is just so moist. I followed the recipe to the dime this time and it just fell apart. I suggest using brown eggs to hold the cake together a bit more and for some reason using the splenda just works so much better if your going to make a two tiered cake. It is just so delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Died and Gone to Heaven Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.9
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    18%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 27.2 mg
    9%
    Sodium 334.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 34.2 g
    137%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes