Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Didi's "I Can't Believe You Used Up My Whole Box of Cheerios" Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Didi's "I Can't Believe You Used Up My Whole Box of Cheerios" Squares

    Average Rating:

    85 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 85

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2003

      I had a serious problem with this recipe. I did not discover until after I was finished making it that some totally incompetent bozo at the margarine packaging plant had put a whole bunch of margarine into boxes marked “butter”. I hope these idiots realize what an inconvenience they caused me, because now I am going to be forced to eat this whole tray of squares and then make them yet again (this time using the right ingredient, of course) in order to determine if they really do taste any worse made with margarine than with butter. Hell, for that matter, I’ll probably be forced to make a third batch with ghee, also for taste comparison purposes. By that time, I’ll have forgotten what they tasted like with unsalted butter, so I might feel obligated to make ‘em with butter again. Vicious circle, isn’t it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2002

      This treat was a huge hit at my office party! I had several comments about it being healthier than Rice Crispy treats, and many came back for seconds. I did all the melting in the microwave and used super chunky pb, and from start to finish, it took around 10 minutes--quick results--my kind of cooking! Thanks Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      Really very good! My whole family, except my 2 1/2 year old, he loves Cheerios, were sure they wouldn't like these. But guess what? They wouldn't stop eating them! And I said, "I told you so!" My husband keeps asking me to make them again! Thanks, Mirjam, for a great snack recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      These came out wonderful! I melted the butter, peanut butter and marshmellows in microwave first then mixed all together (like your Kingons) PERFECT! Another excellent recipe - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      Despite a fairly major recipe modification, these were wonderful! A child in my son's class at school has severe peanut allergies, so no peanut products are allowed at the school (all grades). We used almond butter instead of the peanut butter and it worked perfectly. I could also see a little dribble of chocolate over the tops of these, but I was vetoed this time. (I could drizzle a little bit of chocolate over anything.)Great recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      I used low sodium, reduced fat peanut butter and they turned out fantastic! Huge hit with my toddler and my dh. Definite keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      Very,very good.Quick and easy and we really liked the peanut butter flavor and the crunchiness of the ceral.I did add some M&M's,because everything is better with chocolate!Made it colorful too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      Well, I definately have a hard time following recipes...and I thought I really blew it, but I got great reviews. Well I didn't have regular Cheerios so I used honey nut and instead of a half of a cup of peanut butter, I put in the WHOLE JAR! The bottom line is everyone loved them and I served them to my book club and they were a great hit so this recipe has a lot of room for adjustments. BTW, using wet hands is a great way to flatten these bars in the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      Quick, easy and great tasting! This one is a keeper. Even the kids (teens)can prepare this one without my help. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Fabulous!! I took this to work for a birthday lunchen - The best!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      These are very tasty and healthy. The only downside is that noone else in my family will try them so I'm stuck eating the whole batch. I will make these again though for the holidays with more peanut butter and drizzle chocolate on top. Thanks Mirj.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      Really nice take on Rice Krispie treats. I drizzled some chocolate over the top - yum! I also used more peanut butter than was called for (a full cup of super chunk) and like Caryn would probably use even more next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      These were a great kid treat, my daughter and I both adored them. I would not suggest them for an adult function, but these are a dream for the younger crowd! (They are TOO easy to make!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      Awesome...my whole family loved. I will be making this again very soon!! Of course to me anything with peanut butter is good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Not impressed. Not sure where the flavor was supposed to come from but this wasn't a good treat to me or my husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      This was not what I thought it would be, it felt like something was missing. I think other people mentioned adding chocolate, and that would probably make it better. It really reminded me of a recipe my mom used to make (Check out Special K Cookies, I think that is the same) with Special K cereal and Karo syrup. It's not that it is bad, it's just not a flavor I like a lot. I do like how easy and quick it was to make these, but I wouldn't make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      Fabulous! I'm not a super-chunky PB fan, but they tasted great with the super-chunky. I had 2 HUGE boxes of Cheerios to use up--- they kids loved 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Very quick and easy to make. My kids loved them!! Thanks for adding the tip about putting baggies on your hands... I will use that again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      These came out good. Lots more filling than a rice krispie treat. I think they'll be good for a breakfast treat. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Yup...my family loved this. I thought I was going to dislocate my shoulder trying to mix it all up. Maybe I should make these more often to build my upper body strength..haha. Thanks. I'll be adding these to the lunchboxes tomorrow for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Didi's "I Can't Believe You Used Up My Whole Box of Cheerios" Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.0
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    38%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 63.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites