10 Reviews

I just had a spoonful of the leftover mix that I put in the refrigerator. It is on the tart side but set up nicely. I used a 16 ounce bag of frozen strawberries. So taking in account the amount of liquid that they would produce, I dissolved the jello in 1/2 cup of water. Then added the semi thawed strawberries which of course firmed up the jello immediately. lol So into the microwave it went for 2 minutes on high. That was long enough to bring it back to liquid form and thaw the berries. In went the yogurt and then into the crust. Our DD will enjoy this for Thanksgiving dinner today. Made for *Bake A Thon for CoolMonday* 2007

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 27, 2007

I made this for an Easter Cookout. My father, husband and sister are diabetic. This is a very good pie. I made just as directed. Thhe one problem you will have on this is the look of the pie in the pie form. I would suggest that you do as the picture on PaulG's picture. Have it sliced on plates with the strawberry on top and a little sugar free / fat free cool whip on top. Also, I couldn't find a deep dish crust and had too much filling left (just like Indiana Debbie said in her review). All in all, they loved this and I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alice Robertson Clark April 16, 2006

Made this for Father's Day dinner and it went over very well with everyone! Had trouble finding the specified size of sugar free gelatin, all the packages I found were 0.3oz, so I just used 2 of those, assuming there was a mistake in the posting. I also used strawberry yogurt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 June 21, 2005

Silly me - I "forgot" to add my 2 cents worth! I've never made this myself but I enjoyed a slice made by LoisM for Elly's birthday party - it was delicious. Thanx for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady May 30, 2005

This was a perfect light dessert after a heavy meal. I opted to make this in a tart pan and used the graham cracker crust for my Peanut Butter Banana Tart #121033. Instead of the plain yogurt, I used vanilla non-fat and topped the individual servings off with a dollop of yogurt and the fresh strawberry. It was a big hit at my dinner party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 29, 2005

This was simple to prepare, (I don't do desserts!) and you do not have to be diabetic to enjoy this, I took it to a Birthday luncheon with 3 other Zaar members in attendance, since the hostess was diabetic, but everyone enjoyed a slice, I will definatly make this again, and although I think strawberry will be my favorite, any berries would be good MMM raspberries?! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lois M March 08, 2005

I really enjoyed this although it was too much for one graham cracker crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie June 25, 2004

Tried this and loved it, made some mistakes along the way.Watch out for too much liquid, especially if you use frozen fruits (as I did). Even having said that this was still delicious, I intend on doing this again using blueberries or all fruit mixture. Thanks for posting such a great receipe Coolmonday... was fantastik

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotsunday June 07, 2004

I did not try this, but DH made it (he didn't try it either) for a Multiple Sclerosis bake sale at work. The diabetic folks had been complaining that when there were bake sales, nothing was ever friendly to their dietary needs. So DH decided to make this pie! He got so many rave reviews from lots of folks who thoroughly enjoyed it! Thank you from many, many people at DH's work. We'll make this for dessert if we ever have diabetic guests. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Junkie April 04, 2009

Hey CoolMonday! Thanks for sharing a great strawberry pie recipe! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada March 08, 2005
Diabetic Strawberry Pie