14 Reviews

I made this a few years ago for my diabetic mother's birthday. I wish I took a picture b/c it came out so beautiful. It was good. But the five star rating is b/c of how well it tasted with the "absolutely sugar free" frosting you suggested pairing up with this cake. I used the extra frosting to dip my strawberries in. Very yummy. I usually get the worst aftertaste with sugar free items, but the frosting didn't give me that yucky aftertaste. Thank you for bringing a smile to my mothers face on her birthday. Will make again :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sekretoktober24 December 18, 2010

I made this cake for my cousin and it was great!!! I did use the "Absolutely Sugar Free" Frosting (using White Chocolate pudding mix) which was a very good frosting! I could barely tell that it was (essentially) sugar free! We even had a taste test with a bakery sugar free cake and this cake won! I did make a few minor changes--I used sugar free apricot preserves and I also used frozen strawberries (stronger flavor). Next time I will slice the strawberries thicker. I will also use 8 in. instead of 9 in. cake pans for a little more height to make it easier to cut the cakes in half!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie July 30, 2007

Wonderful flavor and texture. I took this cake to a church potluck recently because several members are diabetics. WOW! you should of heard what everyone was saying about it. I was asked for the recipe many times. I took the few remaining pieces to my Father In Law who is also a diabetic and his only complaint was the cream cheese frosting (he doesn't know what is good anyway.) I made it in a 9 x 13 cake pan, I have a cake slicer to divide it in half. I recommend this cake to everyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clara732 March 22, 2005

This cake is quite heavy. The top of the cake crusts up like cornbread and the cake was a bit dry to me. Needs a bit of tweaking. Great if you're not a cake lover.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronda Jo P. July 23, 2016

Best white low sugar cake I've found. I took the cake part of this recipe and made a double decker sugar-free jello cake with the absolutely sugar free whipped cream frosting and it was a hit. My teenagers loved it. Thanks so much for giving me the building blocks to make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neonstar12668 April 26, 2015

This batter was more like a biscuit or bread batter, very thick. So, naturally it produced a biscuit like cake. Inside it was moist, and tasted ok, but if I am making a cake I want it to be cake like, not like a biscuit. Will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earelos October 29, 2014

I was extremely disappointed that the cake layers did not provide enough rise! I made it twice, thinking I had done something wrong in my first attempt. I read another review, suggesting baking the layers in 8" pans. That's a possibility. I am accustomed to making light, fluffy layers; this was a huge disappointment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LSOCAM April 20, 2014

I am the lead cake designer ar Cake2you.com which operates in New delhi, india,<br/>I tried this recipe for one y clients and must tell you it is excellent.<br/>she is a diabetic lady but loves food and she loved the cake too.<br/>Thank you for putting in this recipe.<br/><br/>Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abhinav S. September 26, 2013

I'm in need of a good diabetic cake for my father-out-law this nov and after relentlessly searching I do believe I've found the best recipe. I can't wait to try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marypeterka86 October 30, 2012

I am only giving this four stars because the cakes didn't rise. I made the recipe two times and both times the layers were dense and could not be cut in half. I may have done something wrong (high probability). A friend suggested adding more sugar and less Splenda to help the layers. The flavor was wonderful and I used three layers from the two batches (fourth layer was taste tested). The Absolutely Sugar Free Icing was wonderful!!! I used white chocolate pudding and it was delicious. Everyone loved the cake and I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickyEaters April 24, 2011
Diabetic Spring Fling Layered White Cake