9 Reviews

This is a really good recipe for being sugar-free!! I made it for my Grandma when she came over for Thanksgiving and she really liked it! Other people ate it too!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E. Hendrick December 03, 2002

This worked great, however instead of Equal is used Splenda. This is yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starfire (aka Wendy) January 20, 2008

This was good and easy recipe. I did make a few adjustments. I only used 15 packets of equal for the cake and will probably cut it back to 10-12 when I make it again. For the filling, I used only 1 packet instead of the 3 called for. I also didn't have self-rising flour, so, I used 1.5 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp salt and enough flour to equal a cup in it's place and it worked out just fine! I made this for a meal I hosted and got several requests for the recipe! Thanks for posting, CharlotteJ!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ October 15, 2003

I always make pumpkin rolls. Since being diagnosed with diabetes, I thought I wouldn't be able to enjoy them anymore. However, this one is great. I made it for Thanks giving. The family loves it. I really like the fact that the filling is lighter and less sweet than the ones I make with powdered sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dixiediva December 09, 2007

This is really tasty and quite easy. I used Splenda, and Cool Whip sugar-free topping. I also subbed 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder for the self-rising flour (too much added sodium in self-rising). I need to get a larger jelly roll pan though. My cake was a little too thick to get enough roll in it, but sure tasted good. I will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here November 25, 2007

You would never know this was made with sugar free substitute. I used Splenda by the way and it worked perfectly! The whole family had some and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diabeticdelimma1 November 29, 2010

You get 5 stars from the Tuttles. I made this for Thanksgiving b/c my father in law has type II diabetes and needs to watch his sugar intake. Everyone ate this (all non-diabetics) and raved at how good it tasted and no one could tell it was diabetic. One reviewer commented that it was too gummy for her, however I guess mine did not come out gummy, it was just perfect. Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly December 19, 2008

While the filling was a much lighter and tasty substitute for the original, I couldn't get over the texture of the roll itself. It was just too gummy for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julieannie December 08, 2008

I'm diabeti too, I've been looking around for receipes for diabetis. This one is just perfect since I have lots of pumkins in my backyard. I only found out a couple of yrs ago that I had diabetics, so this is all rather new for me. Thank-you Charllote for sharring you receipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 November 02, 2008
Diabetic Pumpkin Roll