13 Reviews

The flavor is really delicious and I love what the pepper does for it. I used 2 Tbsp of Splenda brown sugar blend, doubled the cinnamon and a 1/4 cup of egg white. I checked them at 20 mins and they were done. Even then they were beginning to be a bit chewy so I would recommend that you check them early. All in all these were a real success and well enjoyed. Made for "Partying The Diabetic Way".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 28, 2009

I had such high hopes for these and I wish they had turned out right. I followed the recipe using brown sugar and egg substitute. The only changes I made was to omit the pepper since I didn't have any and I used a bit of nutmeg since I didn't have clove. Unfortunately, my cakes came out rubbery on the outside and partially uncooked/mushy on the inside. I even gave them an extra five minutes in the oven but it didn't help :( The flavor on these were great but I couldn't get the texture...are you supposed to use self rising flour? My cupcakes didn't rise much and sunk in the middle while cooling. I'm glad this recipe worked for others and I appreciate the attempt at a healthier treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soaddicted2it July 14, 2009

Just a note, I omitted the pepper, and used ground ginger instead, afterall, they are called "Gingerbread" cupcakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lococolily June 02, 2009

These are great for being almost fat-free and low sugar! The white pepper adds a little zing to the flavor. I think this would also make a nice snack cake (in a 8 x 8 pan). Thanks for a keeper! P.S. baking time for me was 22 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here July 13, 2008

These are very nice and spicy! I'd call them spice muffins. I used the egg option and regular granular splenda because I didn't have the brown sugar blend. They still turned out moist and sweet and spicy. I only tried one and gave the rest to my co-workers diabetic Mother. She said she ate 3 in a row and wanted to eat them all! She said 5 stars all the way. Thanks for providing me with this recipe to make someone elses day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed May 24, 2007

Delicous, spicy and easy to make. They have a nice soft texture (not rubbery, like so many sugar-free baked goods). I wondered if 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper would be too much, but it's not -- just adds a subtle heat. I did make several substitutions for ingredients I didn't have: eliminated applesauce, brown sugar substitute, water and egg substitute; replaced with butter, cooking Splenda and 2 eggs. Also used 2 t. white vinegar + milk to make 2/3 cup, in place of buttermilk, and added 2 T. powdered milk. Your notes in the heading helped me make these substitutions; thanks for including them! My cupcakes were completely cooked at 20 minutes, and filled the kitchen with the fragrance of gingerbread. I had to hide the leftovers -- DH wanted to polish off the whole batch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MzMombo May 20, 2004

This was fabulous, i made it as a small cake, since my muffin pan wasn't in sight - swear goblins steal pans lol - and truly enjoyed

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 21, 2008

These are wonderful right out of the oven & the next day. If I make too many, I freeze them. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starfire (aka Wendy) January 20, 2008

Delicious. I've been disappointed with most of the diabetic muffins that I've tried. These turned out very good, and I'm glad I tried them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohgal December 08, 2007

Excellent muffin/cupcake. The texture was really great and I loved the spicy taste to them. I did add a tad bit more molasses due to some of the other reviews. I thought these were very good and really enjoyed them, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO December 07, 2007
Diabetic Gingerbread Cupcakes