Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Diabetic Gingerbread Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Diabetic Gingerbread Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2009

      The flavor is really delicious and I love what the pepper does for it. I used 2 Tbsp of Splenda brown sugar blend, doubled the cinnamon and a 1/4 cup of egg white. I checked them at 20 mins and they were done. Even then they were beginning to be a bit chewy so I would recommend that you check them early. All in all these were a real success and well enjoyed. Made for "Partying The Diabetic Way".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I had such high hopes for these and I wish they had turned out right. I followed the recipe using brown sugar and egg substitute. The only changes I made was to omit the pepper since I didn't have any and I used a bit of nutmeg since I didn't have clove. Unfortunately, my cakes came out rubbery on the outside and partially uncooked/mushy on the inside. I even gave them an extra five minutes in the oven but it didn't help :( The flavor on these were great but I couldn't get the texture...are you supposed to use self rising flour? My cupcakes didn't rise much and sunk in the middle while cooling. I'm glad this recipe worked for others and I appreciate the attempt at a healthier treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Just a note, I omitted the pepper, and used ground ginger instead, afterall, they are called "Gingerbread" cupcakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      These are great for being almost fat-free and low sugar! The white pepper adds a little zing to the flavor. I think this would also make a nice snack cake (in a 8 x 8 pan). Thanks for a keeper! P.S. baking time for me was 22 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      These are very nice and spicy! I'd call them spice muffins. I used the egg option and regular granular splenda because I didn't have the brown sugar blend. They still turned out moist and sweet and spicy. I only tried one and gave the rest to my co-workers diabetic Mother. She said she ate 3 in a row and wanted to eat them all! She said 5 stars all the way. Thanks for providing me with this recipe to make someone elses day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2004

      Delicous, spicy and easy to make. They have a nice soft texture (not rubbery, like so many sugar-free baked goods). I wondered if 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper would be too much, but it's not -- just adds a subtle heat. I did make several substitutions for ingredients I didn't have: eliminated applesauce, brown sugar substitute, water and egg substitute; replaced with butter, cooking Splenda and 2 eggs. Also used 2 t. white vinegar + milk to make 2/3 cup, in place of buttermilk, and added 2 T. powdered milk. Your notes in the heading helped me make these substitutions; thanks for including them! My cupcakes were completely cooked at 20 minutes, and filled the kitchen with the fragrance of gingerbread. I had to hide the leftovers -- DH wanted to polish off the whole batch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      This was fabulous, i made it as a small cake, since my muffin pan wasn't in sight - swear goblins steal pans lol - and truly enjoyed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      These are wonderful right out of the oven & the next day. If I make too many, I freeze them. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Delicious. I've been disappointed with most of the diabetic muffins that I've tried. These turned out very good, and I'm glad I tried them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Excellent muffin/cupcake. The texture was really great and I loved the spicy taste to them. I did add a tad bit more molasses due to some of the other reviews. I thought these were very good and really enjoyed them, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Yummo. I made these with a couple of small adjustments that are consistent with Paula's efforts to make these a fairly healthful treat. Used the new brown sugar Splenda and 2 egg whites in lieu of the egg. The results were moist and tender. There was a little chewiness in the crust something related to the sugar substitute but nothing that diminished our enjoyment. The flavor is great; not too much molasses, which often happens with gingerbread. They were genuinely spice with strong notes from the ginger and cloves. I used somewhere between 1/2 and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper which gave me a perfect amount of subtle heat. One of those "there's something there" but not so much that (unless you had an exceptional tastebuds) you would what it was. Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      The texture turned out nicely and I like how healhty these are - But I'm afriad these should be called "White Pepper Muffins" rather than "Gingerbread Cupcakes" ;-P They were incredibly spicy but not very ginger-y. Didn't taste like gingerbread to me, but I enjoyed the spicy-sweet combination anyway. Very different! Next time I would add more ginger (maybe some fresh ginger as well as the dry) and quite a bit more molasses or other sweetener.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I really liked the combination of spices in this one. Gave the muffins a nice flavor so that you didn't miss the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Diabetic Gingerbread Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.4
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    58%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 170.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites