Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Diabetic Date Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Diabetic Date Squares

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2003

      Althought the amount of carbs (carbs break down into sugar) in this recipe are on the high side for the amount per serving it was yummy. I will make this again for my family and try very hard not to eat more then 1 serving. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      I made these squares for my mom who is diabetic and always craving sweets and she loved em. I also tried them and found that they tasted like the real thing,you couldn't even tell they had artificial sweetner in them. I only change I made was that I used Equal instead. Next time I make them I'll try adding a bit of orange juice to the filling. Thanx Elaine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      We found these date squares delicious and very little difference from the taste of regular date squares. I used regular splenda and followed the recipe exactly. This will be a delightful addition to my holiday stash, I may do another batch with a defferent filling, maybe cranberry. thanks for sharing. Dec 6/07 - just to let you know I make these quite often , one of DH's favourites, and especially good for Holiday baking , we have 5 diabetics to bake for over the holidays and they all love this recipe, thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      These are very good date squares. Possibly the best recipe I've tried with Splenda. I did need a bit more water to cook the dates, probably closer to 2 cups (I kept adding a few tablespoons at a time to prevent burning), and I was wishing I'd chopped up the dates first instead of just putting them in the pot. But they cooked up fine, just needed more time and water. I had enough Splenda for the crust, but only had about a quarter cup left for the dates, so I cooked it like that and tasted a bit to see if I should add some sugar to make it sweet enough. Now I am wondering if I even needed to add Splenda to the dates at all! Dates are so sweet by themselves, it probably isn't necessary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2004

      Made these today and they are wonderful. The crust is nice a flakey. I had whole dates which I chopped in my food processor. Splenda has a new product made specifically for baking and I used it in this recipe. The crust browned nicely. Also, I added a few finely chopped pecans to the crumb mixture. I always make a cookie assortment at Christmas and these have been added to the list. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      These were pretty good! I added these to my Christmas baking, but unfortunately the diabetic one I specifically wanted to make them for didn't even try them, instead she had all the other yummy sweets that she is not supposed to have....yes, my Mother is not very good at avoiding the stuff she shouldn't have. The only ones who ended up trying them was myself and my youngest. We both thought they were pretty good, they were dry though was my only complaint about them. But with so many super sweet things that I baked and put out this year it was nice to have a not-so-sweet alternative. Since nobody else seemed interested in trying them I doubt I would make them again, I still have some left I will probably have to dump because they have been sitting for a week and I don't think anyone will want them now.

      For diabetics who actually stick to their diet better than my Mom, and for people who just don't like super sweet things this is a nice recipe and was very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Love date bars and have been avoiding the date bars at the bakery. Thanks for the low sugar recipe. Don't know if they are diabetic fare, so just had half a serving. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      DH loved these, date bars is a favorite of his. I made these using butter instead of margarine.Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      Very good taste. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      Made this for a Zarr Gathering September 06 and everyone seemed to enjoy. The recipe was easy to follow and took very little time to prepare. My picky SD has found something she loves and DS loves them too. I could not tell the difference between these and ones made with sugar. Will update when I hear from my dad what he though. He is diabetic and always 'cheats' when it comes to his favorite treat so I made sure he got some too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      Perfect and easy to make. Not disgustingly sweet like so many bar cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      I made these for myself and my friends. They are "to die for delicious" A real Must Try! even for non diabetics!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      I made this recipe for family and friends and they didn't even no it was a diabetic recipe. It was very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      I thought I had reviewed this,but I guess not....It is a great recipe and I have made it a few times. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Diabetic Date Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (1252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.8
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    58%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 49.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light margarine

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites