Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Diabetic Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Diabetic Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2014

      Very good stew! I didn't add the turnips or rutabagas because I had none on hand. The seasonings were just perfect. Thank you for posting this good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Sauteed the veggies as directed, and threw everything in the crockpot -- no rutabagas nor turnips. Did add a tad of flour to the browning beef. Left it in the crockpot for 8 hours -- most on High. was tasty enough, but not outstanding. Thanks for posting, Jenny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Great stew, not just for diabetics or those on restricted diets. Everyone will enjoy this. Thanks for posting Jenny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This is an excellent basic stew recipe similar to my usual stew but with fewer potatoes. You won't miss the potatoes because of the turnip, rutabaga, and barley. I followed the recipe fairly closely with the exception of using 2 small cans of tomatoes instead of one large one. That made it a bit more tomatoey but still excellent. Also, because I was using left-over lamb roast, I waited until the veges were tender before adding the meat and herbs. That way the meat didn't get overcooked, and the herbs were more flavorful. I don't think that did any damage to the flavor, even though I gave up the pan scrapings that would have been there from browning the meat. I used homemade chicken broth, and it really was fabulous, so I highly recommend broth instead of water. Beef broth would be good too, I'm sure, as that's usually what I use when I make stew. I only gave it 4 stars because, well, it's just stew. It's good, but doesn't really send my taste buds to heaven. It's just too healthy for that:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      I tried this recipe and loved it. My hubby and I both have high blood pressue so I simply substituted salt free tomatoes. I did add a half-cup of burgandy to the stew. Everyone loved the stew. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This was awesome! Love to know what is in my stew, not like canned! Very easy and yummy! Sherdabear

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This stew is delicious and have served it to company and they have stated it is the best stew they have ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      We very much enjoyed this stew. I used two 14oz cans of stewed tomatoes, as I could not find a 19oz can, but otherwise made the recipe as written. It made us 6 very generous servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      I made this because it was low in calories and it turned out to be really good! I omitted the rutabaga and potato, because I did not have any, but I used the white turnips. Leftovers are great, also. Thanks, Jenny, for the good recipe that I will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Simple, cheap and really delicious. The root veggies are way too overlooked.I added a little hot peppers and red wine for spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      Turned out wonderfully. Filled my largest crock pot to the rim. Looked watery at first but thickened to just the right consistency after several hours. I used beef broth and not as much turnip/rutabaga. My five kids all ate it, even the picky eaters. That says alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      Made this recipe a few days ago, my BF said it was the best stew he has ever eaten. I had to agree, it was thick and rich and oh so good. I will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      It was awesome! I made this for my boyfriend who is a diabetic and he just loved it! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Diabetic Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.7
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    36%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 82.9 mg
    27%
    Sodium 468.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites