13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of my favourites when I'm in mood for simple good food. I've made this before too using 1 small cinnamon stick(about 1 tsp) and 1/2 tsp cumin seeds instead of the ginger and garlic. Also, I've used just 3 cups of water instead of 4 and 1 tsp. oil instead of 1 1/2 tbsp. I like this soup garnished with lots of corriander leaves. This really goes great with hot steamed white rice and some low-fat yogurt!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 11, 2002

I found this recipe very bland. I pumped it up with cumin and red pepper flakes. I think it is a good base for whatever flavors you want to add.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 December 03, 2006

Hi Chrissy, thanks for this tasty recipe with its short ingredient list and easy to follow instructions. I made up a batch to take for lunches this week and sprinkled some sauteed mushrooms and green onions on the top. Yummy! And even yummier the next day! Next time might add a bit of chili powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oloschiavo November 15, 2006

This dish was just ok. I had high hopes for it because this is one of my favorite dishes from our favorite Indian restaurant. It seemed very bland. I should've read more of the reviews and followed some of the advice. It definitely needed an additional spice or two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Greenest November 01, 2006

This was great. My mom is no longer allowed to eat meat, so I made this with rice and some baked tofu on the side...it was really good. I reccomend adding some hot sauce, as it did need an extra "kick"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Italy June 16, 2006

I made this last nite and agree with Varsha. Filling but could use a little spicing up! I added a bit of garam masala and crushed red pepper flakes. I also wish I had had some sour cream or something to stir in. Thanks for an easy recipe though mine turned out very orange...not like the pics! (I used red lentils from a middle eastern store)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 September 18, 2005

Absolutely delicious. Added garam masala and a bit more hot pepper and ate it with basmati rice and yogurt (see photo). Mmmm! Thanks for an easy winning recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegitaliana June 13, 2005

good recipe, but it could use some heat - i added 1/2tsp each of chilli powder and coriander powder, and i also used 2 cinammon sticks and a bay leaf. i also added half a tomato in this. i tempered it with cumin seeds and garnished with cilantro, and it was wonderful to have on a lazy wintry night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood December 26, 2004

This recipe was the highlight of the Indian Luncheon I prepared for some of my coworkers. It was flavorful and almost creamy and great over Basmati rice. I followed the directions exactly and was rewarded with much praise for this recipe. It was a fabulous side dish to go with an Indian meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. September 17, 2004

Great recipe - tasty, cheap, and easy. I added garam masala and more hot pepper, and served it over brown rice. I was very impressed and will definately be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
federico March 03, 2004
Dhal - Lentil Puree