Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dhal - Lentil Puree Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dhal - Lentil Puree

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2002

      This is one of my favourites when I'm in mood for simple good food. I've made this before too using 1 small cinnamon stick(about 1 tsp) and 1/2 tsp cumin seeds instead of the ginger and garlic. Also, I've used just 3 cups of water instead of 4 and 1 tsp. oil instead of 1 1/2 tbsp. I like this soup garnished with lots of corriander leaves. This really goes great with hot steamed white rice and some low-fat yogurt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I found this recipe very bland. I pumped it up with cumin and red pepper flakes. I think it is a good base for whatever flavors you want to add.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      Hi Chrissy, thanks for this tasty recipe with its short ingredient list and easy to follow instructions. I made up a batch to take for lunches this week and sprinkled some sauteed mushrooms and green onions on the top. Yummy! And even yummier the next day! Next time might add a bit of chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      This dish was just ok. I had high hopes for it because this is one of my favorite dishes from our favorite Indian restaurant. It seemed very bland. I should've read more of the reviews and followed some of the advice. It definitely needed an additional spice or two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      This was great. My mom is no longer allowed to eat meat, so I made this with rice and some baked tofu on the side...it was really good. I reccomend adding some hot sauce, as it did need an extra "kick"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I made this last nite and agree with Varsha. Filling but could use a little spicing up! I added a bit of garam masala and crushed red pepper flakes. I also wish I had had some sour cream or something to stir in. Thanks for an easy recipe though mine turned out very orange...not like the pics! (I used red lentils from a middle eastern store)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      Absolutely delicious. Added garam masala and a bit more hot pepper and ate it with basmati rice and yogurt (see photo). Mmmm! Thanks for an easy winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      good recipe, but it could use some heat - i added 1/2tsp each of chilli powder and coriander powder, and i also used 2 cinammon sticks and a bay leaf. i also added half a tomato in this. i tempered it with cumin seeds and garnished with cilantro, and it was wonderful to have on a lazy wintry night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2004

      This recipe was the highlight of the Indian Luncheon I prepared for some of my coworkers. It was flavorful and almost creamy and great over Basmati rice. I followed the directions exactly and was rewarded with much praise for this recipe. It was a fabulous side dish to go with an Indian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2004

      Great recipe - tasty, cheap, and easy. I added garam masala and more hot pepper, and served it over brown rice. I was very impressed and will definately be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      Good basic daal recipe that can be dressed up any way or just eaten as is. Reliable recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      This makes a terrific dal. Smooth and creamy. The only change I made was to add a touch of garam masala at the end of cooking. Will be a regular recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      I have a couple of dal recipes that I like and now this one joins them. This is certainly easy to do and has a great taste. I did add a little chile to spice it up though. Glad you posted this ChrissO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dhal - Lentil Puree

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.0
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    23%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 11.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites