Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dhal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dhal

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2010

      I made half a recipe and used yellow mustard seeds. Will try black next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Wonderful! I used brown lentils as that was all I had. I added the tumeric and and 1tsp ground ginger (I did not have fresh) to the simmering lentils. This is definately going in my special recipe section.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      very good and easy too. i added some celery and peas into it. and added a bullion cube to my lentils and found that was enough salt for the whole dish, no more needed. very versitile and fun.. and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I loved this dahl recipe so its definitely one I'll be using again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Look forward to making this one, TRUE! As looks HEAPS yummy and delicious too! Perhaps prior reviewer didn't wash lentils? Don't know! But definately in the New year, I will have a go.... cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I don't know what happened to this dish, but it had the strangest dry, gritty taste. I have a feeling it has something to do with my cooking method. I did like the flavors, so I will definetly try it again. Thnaks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I myself found it an easy recipe. But I didn't have the blender needed, so I just pressed the Dahl enough to mash it a bit, and left alot of them as they were. Also I didn't have black mustard seeds, but had yellow indian mustard seeds. I used Kashmiri chilli as well as regular ground chilli powder, ( real chilli peppers ground) not the American type. Ala in all this was a great dish, I made it with vegatable curry, and had to try my hand at my first Rotis, well yummmmm....thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      This was good. I think I might have preferred different spices, but I don't have suggestions. I thought I wouldn't puree it, but then I did -- other times I've made dal, I used red lentils or mung beans, which disentegrate, but the channa dal didn't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Yum! I made it to go with Tandori Chicken, one of the best meals I've made in ages!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This was quite good, we were just a little unclear on the directions. We weren't sure if we should have drained the lentils before blending them and then added the water back in? As it was we had lentil soup after we blended them and we then had to boil them down for a few minutes to get a thicker texture. The seasoning was very nice, lots of flavour but not too spicy. However next time I think I would prefer the texture of lentils just beaten with a spoon, rather than blended very finely. Went well with naan breads and a great dish for vegetarian curry lovers in particular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dhal

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.7
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    10%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 18.7 g
    75%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes