8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best. The sauce recipe is for making 6-8 sandwiches (open face). That is why the nutrition facts are out of line. You really need to stir the sauce while it is cooking. I make 6 in a 13x9 pan then scoop out onto a plate. Funny, everyone complains about how much fat is in this dish while they are licking the plates clean ;-) Enjoy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpampena2 November 29, 2009

Back in the early 80's I used to cook at a well-know Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh. There, along with the turkey devonshire we had the crab devonshire, a popular dish among the regular customers. Just substitute canned lump crabmeat for the turkey.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarkPgh7 October 07, 2004

As another reviewer wrote, The Hollywood Social Club (The Sosh) in Shadyside served the Devonshire in the 1950s. The LeMont Restaurant wasn't built till years later. I still crave it, though I haven't lived in Pittsburgh since 1965!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lthorpe883 October 10, 2013

Can the nutritional facts be accurate for this recipe?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunnec July 15, 2009

I used to have one of these every week at the Black Angus in Oakland (in the '70s) This is the exact things, except there's too much sauce for a single sandwich. Increase the turkey, abcon, and bread, and you can make 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TuscanFoodie October 11, 2007

Yum! I used to get a devonshire sandwich at Teddy's in North Huntington, PA...I haven't had one of these in YEARS (I've lived in Tennessee for 10 years now). Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DragonFly2 February 03, 2006

The Hollywood Social Club in Shadyside,use to serve these Sandwiches, on a sizzleing platter, the sauce had a little sherry wine in it, they also served it over lobster in a open-faced szndwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdlaughead October 30, 2003

This sounds like a hot brown sandwich, which is very good. I think the recipe needs to be edited for ingredient amounts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbak October 13, 2002
Devonshire Sandwich Pittsburgh original!!