34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These muffins are chocolatey, and not too sweet, that's what makes them delicious. Muffins shouldn't be as sweet as cupcakes. These muffins are excellent as is, although some options are to replace the chocolate chips with peanut butter chips or add some chopped walnuts to the batter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martina September 23, 2003

Ok at first this was a 3 star recipe for me, the first time I tried it cos i found that it was not sweet enough. I guess my family has more of a sweet tooth. I didn't give up, and I tried it again, this time I increased the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup and it was Perfect. 5 stars. I did another batch, and I added just the 1/2 cup of sugar, BUT I added white chocolate chips instead and it was FABULOUS!!! I totally recommend that!! Try this recipe, it is really versatile, and you can do heaps with it. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac June 18, 2003

Five Stars for your delicious Devils Food Chocolate Chip Muffins, NurseDi! So simple to make and so delightful to consume! This will satisfy any of your A.M. chocolate needs ;). Thanks for yet another 5 star winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 23, 2003

I love this recipe, but I've made one change: I use buttermilk instead of regular milk. That is the only change, and this recipe is just delicious. I make it in huge batches for our Sunday church breakfast, and it turns out perfect every time. Thank you for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauradoony September 08, 2013

I substituted flax meal and water for the eggs and coconut oil for the vegetable oil because I don't cook with either anymore. They are perfectly sweet with 1/2 cup of sugar. They are a little dry though, other than that they are awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyliimarii July 21, 2013

This recipe was made on 5/16/13, and I'm very sorry I waited until now to rate & review this recipe. Except for making 6 jumbo muffins, the recipe was made exactly as it was written. Even though the muffins were very good, they seemed a bit on the heavy side. Maybe because I made jumbos instead of the regular size, I don't know. I'll give these another try in the future,and make regular and see how they turn out. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � May 22, 2013

The muffins weren't as sweet as i thought, but it didn't stop us eating them all in one hit, the second batch i put a dollop of cream cheese, and these were perfection. Yummy, creamy delightful devilish taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gerrytekarlahowe May 06, 2012

The muffins were extremely dry and did not have much of a taste. I even used 3/4 cup of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
courtneymutti September 30, 2010

I agree with PR Princess. Not sure why but these just didn't taste good. Sorry I couldn't rate it higher.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh July 20, 2010

This recipe didn't work for us. They were dry and didn't have a good flavor--not bad just not detectable. I even used 3/4 c. of sugar--but since so many people liked them I guess they simply aren't our taste. Thanks for the chance to try something new!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy December 09, 2009
Devil's Food Chocolate Chip Muffins