Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Devil's Food Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Devil's Food Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2003

      These muffins are chocolatey, and not too sweet, that's what makes them delicious. Muffins shouldn't be as sweet as cupcakes. These muffins are excellent as is, although some options are to replace the chocolate chips with peanut butter chips or add some chopped walnuts to the batter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      Ok at first this was a 3 star recipe for me, the first time I tried it cos i found that it was not sweet enough. I guess my family has more of a sweet tooth. I didn't give up, and I tried it again, this time I increased the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup and it was Perfect. 5 stars. I did another batch, and I added just the 1/2 cup of sugar, BUT I added white chocolate chips instead and it was FABULOUS!!! I totally recommend that!! Try this recipe, it is really versatile, and you can do heaps with it. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      Five Stars for your delicious Devils Food Chocolate Chip Muffins, NurseDi! So simple to make and so delightful to consume! This will satisfy any of your A.M. chocolate needs ;). Thanks for yet another 5 star winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      I love this recipe, but I've made one change: I use buttermilk instead of regular milk. That is the only change, and this recipe is just delicious. I make it in huge batches for our Sunday church breakfast, and it turns out perfect every time. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      I substituted flax meal and water for the eggs and coconut oil for the vegetable oil because I don't cook with either anymore. They are perfectly sweet with 1/2 cup of sugar. They are a little dry though, other than that they are awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      This recipe was made on 5/16/13, and I'm very sorry I waited until now to rate & review this recipe. Except for making 6 jumbo muffins, the recipe was made exactly as it was written. Even though the muffins were very good, they seemed a bit on the heavy side. Maybe because I made jumbos instead of the regular size, I don't know. I'll give these another try in the future,and make regular and see how they turn out. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      The muffins weren't as sweet as i thought, but it didn't stop us eating them all in one hit, the second batch i put a dollop of cream cheese, and these were perfection. Yummy, creamy delightful devilish taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      The muffins were extremely dry and did not have much of a taste. I even used 3/4 cup of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I agree with PR Princess. Not sure why but these just didn't taste good. Sorry I couldn't rate it higher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This recipe didn't work for us. They were dry and didn't have a good flavor--not bad just not detectable. I even used 3/4 c. of sugar--but since so many people liked them I guess they simply aren't our taste. Thanks for the chance to try something new!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Really good! Not quite as moist as I would have liked it, but still a great recipe. I used it as the cake part for a German Chocolate Cake and it was an excellent combination since the frosting was extremely sweet and the "cake" was not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Oh my these were chocolaty and good!! used about 1/2 cup sugar and used low-fat milk. Made 12 large muffins that I gave to a sick friend - managed to taste one - and will be making those again! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Great recipe! This makes 12 very large muffins, and the batter could certainly be stretched over a larger number of muffins. A very nice chocolate flavour, and not overly sweet (I used somewhere between 1/2 c & 3/4 c sugar). I also substituted pureed prunes (baby food) for the oil and it turned out wonderfully! I will probably use Splenda next time to cut back on the calories a little more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      I thought these were very good, but I thought they needed some more sugar (I used 3/4 cup, but will up that to 1 cup next time) also I found the baking soda a little overwhelming, so next time I will use 1 tspn. Other than that they were very chocolatey and I loved the texture. They were very quick to put together. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Very good. Very easy. The chocolate flavor really comes through, but it's not overly sweet. I had to make some subs because of allergies: gluten flour for wheat flour, soy milk for cow's milk, and no chocolate chips (didn't have them).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      My husband and I love these due to their tremendous chocolate-ness. Haven't found a choc muffin recipe yet that surpasses them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      These were just ok for me. Based on all the great reviews, I was a bit disappointed. They were not moist enough for me. I'll try making these again though and next time I'll use whole milk instead of skim (that might have been the problem with my batch).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Finally - a chocolate chocolate chip muffin that is not overly sweet! I loved it made as originally stated with only 1/2 c sugar! My kids are raving over these tonight!! Fabulous recipe. I received 15 muffins out of this one recipe and all came out perfect! Thanks for a recipe that will be a tried and true zaar addition to my rotations. Tagged in the Zaar Cookbooks ABC Tag game - and boy am I glad I tagged it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Great muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Can you stand another 5-star rating? These were fabulous! I made 'em as mini-muffins, trying to keep my calorie and fat intake down ... and that made them the PERFECT size. One mini-muffin is under 100 calories, and only 2 WW points (I got 40 mini muffins out of this recipe). The flavor was superb, as was the texture. And they were so easy to make ... These will be great to have in the freezer for a quick, guilt-free chocolate fix. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Devil's Food Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1094 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.9
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    43%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 34.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 334.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites