12 Reviews

We gave this recipe 4 stars for flavor, but added another for uniqueness. While I was making them, DH said it sounded yucky, but then I reminded him how we put cherries and pineapples on ham when we bake it. What is ham? Bacon! So, not only did I wrap (marachino) cherries in bacon, but also did it with some pineapple chunks and Wow, were they both delicious! The cherry ones were a bit on the sweet side, so we were happy that we didn't use glace (candied) cherries. The pineapple ones packed a nice flavor. Even DH liked these appetizers. Thanks for a creative and easy recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 23, 2010

Fabulously delicious and, judging by the comments made, a really novel concept to all who enjoyed them at the New Year's Eve party I took them to. They disappeared SO fast. I had taken them on the tray ready to be cooked there. In making these, hadn't even registered the fact that they were to be made with glace cherries until I came to prepare them; I had bought two jars of maraschino cherries. The day before I had removed about a tablespoon of the syrup from each jar and had added tablespoon of port. I drained the cherries thoroughly before assembling them. These were just such totally delicious morsels and so easy to prepare: I'll certainly be making them again. Thank you for sharing another super recipe, Noo! Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder January 01, 2009

I made these for one of the many Christmas parties that we have attended so far. I think I will be making them again before the year is up. I did find "glace" cherries in the grocery store. I will tell you, the combo of sweet and salty hit the spot! Some people were asking me if they were intended as an appetizer or as a dessert. I told them that they were for anytime their little hearts desired! I did cut each bacon strip into thirds, and it worked well. Thanks for a great recipe. (Made for PRMR)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 December 23, 2013

After making some other things, I had just three slices of bacon leftover and this recipe intrigued me. I used maraschino cherries instead of glace because I had them on hand. I rolled up the edges of the foil to make a little lip which kept the bacon fat from running everywhere - one of the smarter things I've done recently LOL The cherry and bacon were an unusual and interesting combination. I would like to try again with something just slightly less sugary than the cherries - maybe pineapple, dried fig, or dates. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 January 28, 2012

Noo, these appys are special - I just knew I'd love them; and I was right! I quickly put them together, when we had unexpected company, and they were ready quick as a wink! I did cook mine for a couple of extra minutes, as we like our bacon crispy. They were different and divine! I'll keep them in mind, for a quick fix! Thanks so much for sharing, Noo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl December 27, 2011

This made for a great appetizer during the football game last night. Had some leftover lunchmeat ham that I need to use to, so I made some with the ham too. Love this simple delicious recipe. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker December 17, 2010

Made these to add to my finger food counter for this evening's New Year's Eve celebration, & THESE LITTLE MUNCHIES ARE JUST GREAT ~ Loved the combo of cherry-sweet & bacon-salty! Definitely to be made again! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 31, 2009

These just tasted like cherries and bacon. I had higher hopes for these but was a little disappointed. They would be good with something tart-some kind of apricot glaze or preserves. I might try that next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellysmom July 21, 2009

These devilish morsels... are truly evil. They are soo good. I made a small batch, now I'm off to finish what I started. Thanks for sharing this treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaldredey February 08, 2009

OMG, these are so great!!! I had leftover glace cherries from making fruitcake and always have bacon on hand. I tried making just 6 pieces to start with and ended up making a larger batch a few hours later. I can't wait for my DH to try them when he gets home, he's going to love them! Thanks so much for posting Noo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marney January 18, 2009
Devilishly Delicious Bacon and Cherry Roll-Ups