Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Deviled Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Deviled Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2003

      I made this recipe this weekend and followed the recipe to the T. I gave the recipe 3 stars only because the chicken turned out very moist, which I find is the case any time I marinade in buttermilk. Unfortunately, we did not share the enthusiasm others had on this dish. My DH actually asked me If I had forgotten to season the chicken. We thought it to be bland. Sorry, maybe it's a Texas thing but we like our dishes seasoned and I thought it would be hot but we couldn't taste it. Ended up tossing it. Sorry, again obviously a difference of opinion and taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Let me start by saying that the smell of the marinade alone was enough to tease my senses and keep me up half the night thinking about eating this chicken the next day. Followed your instructions detail by detail and the end result was SUPERB!! Crunchy, thick, golden brown coating with just the PERFECT amount of "kick." Seasoning wasn't overpowering, but you knew it was there. The chicken itself was the juiciest, most flavorful fried chicken I have ever had!! For lack of better words...we "tore this bird up!" My son wanted me to tell you that KFC better watch out!! :) I have a feeling that this dish will be frequently requested from now on, which is just fine by me! Thanks again for this GREAT RECIPE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2002

      This chicken is wonderful! Word of caution: don't use your leftover flour mixture and buttermilk for pan gravy unless you like really spicy food!! I grew up having milk/pan gravy whenever we had fried chicken, so I figured I would use the leftover ingredients...Well whooooeee!! it was warm to the tastebuds!! Maybe if you want some of the flavor, just use some of each! Ah!! Live & learn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      I made this whole recipe for only the 2 of us, because we like to have leftover fried chicken. They're aren't any leftovers!! I left the chicken in the buttermilk mix overnight, I cut the cayenne to 2 teaspoons, because I thought that might be TOO much. Letting the chicken stand in the flour mixture really helped it to adhere to the pieces. This is a very easy recipe to prepare. The flavor is outstanding!! It came out very crisp and juicy. The peanut oil was a nice touch, gave it a great taste! This is without a doubt going to be made a LOT here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      I have always marinated by chicken in buttermilk before frying, but this recipe is awsome! I made this for my husband and his friend and they told everyone this was the best fried chicken they have ever had. I am giving this recipe to alot of wives now. It was the best fried chicken I have ever had!!!! Thank you Bev

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      It's true! This is the by far the best fried chicken recipe here on Zaar. It was alot of work, but well worth it. I used my deep fryer with 'pick of the chick' pack. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      Absolutely a winner! We made it a bit simpler by using the trusty old electric fry pan set at 350 degrees all the way through. Seemed to work just fine - maybe took a couple of minutes longer on the second half of the batch, but was easier that finding a frying thermometer, etc. Just pulled the leftovers out of the 'fridge and, ya know what, it really IS almost better cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      I've been using this recipe for years. It's the best fried chicken EVER! I don't cut down on the cayenne. I know it sounds like alot.. but it's not too spicy for me. I've found that the chicken doesn't have to marinate very long to become tender and succulent. Great to take in a picnic lunch basket!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I loved the idea of removing the skin on the chicken, though it was labor intensive using all drumsticks as I did. The chicken was juicy and flavorful, but I had too much breading on the chicken. I would try a thin coating of flour right before frying next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      I came across this recipe about a year ago, and I started an account with Recipezaar just to let Bev and others know this recipe is beyond belief. I have cooked this for my family several times and they love it. The only thing I did different was use legs and thighs instead of the whole fryer chicken. Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      I prepared the chicken & marinaded overnight. Did not get home till late so I BBQ the chicken. I will complete the whole recipe next time but I will also be using the marinade for a BBQ again. Thanks Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      Excellent! This recipe has it all - crispy, wonderfully spiced crust and juicy, tender, flavorful chicken. The marinade alone is worth 5 stars and I will also use it for baked/grilled chicken in the future. I made the recipe as directed using 3 large split breasts. I don't have a deep fry thermometer. I started the chicken on medium high until golden brown on each side, then reduced the heat to medium. Be sure to read the directions carefully, I almost made the same mistake as Dreamgoddess. It would be helpful if the word "divided" was added to the ingredients split between the marinade and the coating.Thanks Bev - fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      I really goofed in the preparation for this recipe...I forgot to marinate for 24 hrs, dumped all the seasoning ingredients in the marinade instead of dividing them, and on top of all that, didn't have time to let the chicken sit in the flour for a couple of hours. Despite all that, the chicken was delicious! I did have a slight problem with the coating adhering to the chicken, but I'm sure it was because I didn't have time to let the chicken rest in the flour. I can't wait to make this chicken again and do it right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Deviled Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (889 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3698.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2915
    78%
    Total Fat 323.8 g
    498%
    Saturated Fat 60.5 g
    302%
    Cholesterol 329.5 mg
    109%
    Sodium 3791.3 mg
    157%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 116.4 g
    232%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    onion powder with green onion and parsley

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes