24 Reviews

These were wonderful. The pickle juice is an interesting and great tasting variation. Thanks for the recipe. One comment about reviewers who say how good a recipe is but then go on to list the changes or substitutions they made to the ingredients. It usually comes out to be a completely different recipe which is good on its own. Don't sell yourself short. Submit your changes as your own recipe. I think we miss out on many good recipes because they aren't listed on the website. They are buried in the reviews as "changes" or "substitutions."

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Time2Eat July 02, 2007

I made these for a Memorial Day cookout at my sisters house. After making them, I decided to make another batch, since my family loves deviled eggs. My son raved about them and I guess others enjoyed them too, since I only brought home 4 eggs. I liked them, but I think next time, I will use less Miracle Whip and mustard. I prepared just as the recipe was written, but I like the filling to have a little thicker consistency. Great recipe and I will make again! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keen5 May 28, 2003

Excellent!! I loved them and so did my husband!! No wonder your kids love them .. thank you so much, I really love the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa April 28, 2003

I loved the ingredients--I wouldn't have to buy dried mustard anymore & I'd have a use for pickle juice! The flavor...I liked. It had more flavor than the recipe I normally use, but also seemed a bit salty...not sure if it was salt or celery seed. It reminded me more of egg salad than deviled eggs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em February 17, 2013

These were so good! I made them today for a July 4th BBQ and everyone LOVED THEM! I was like a rock star popular.

I subbed Miracle Whip (as you suggested) instead of mayo cause I like them a little sweet so I didn't add the additional sugar listed in the cooking ingredients. Other than that... I stayed true to the recipe exactly as posted. OMG... these were sooo good and my guests inhaled them within 30 minutes and wanted more. There were no eggs left to be eaten by the time the meat was cooked on the grill. I'll triple this recipe next time. It is that good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber July 05, 2012

Did we like these Yes we did however don’t make the same mistakes that I made When making anything likes this were the amounts of egg yoke maybe not or maybe more or less… Make sure to prepare the sauce in a separate bowl and then add to the yokes little by little. I did not and got soup. I also thought that the celery seed was a bit much and I know that this is personal preference but I would omit the celery seed and the salt and use ½ Teaspoon of celery seed salt instead. Thank you for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia November 28, 2007

I needed a recipe for these today when I was at my mom and dad's house. She made 7-layer salad and had left over eggs. This recipe caught my eye because of the pickle juice. I used celery salt, because she didn't have celery seeds, and omitted the salt. I also added a dash of garlic powder (we're garlic lovers!) and a dash of cayenne pepper. She didn't have scallions or chives, so I added finely chopped onions and 1/2 tsp of pickle relish. AND instead of using white pepper (which she didn't have) I used black pepper. Gave it some color! After tasting, it was a little salty, so I added some more (about 1 tbsp) of Miracle Whip. They were fanTAStic! Thanks a bunch!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Griffy19 September 02, 2006

This is how I have made my deviled eggs for years. The only change is that I do not add the sugar. Made them again for Thanksgiving. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 27, 2005

I used this to make egg salad - just mashed up all the eggs. Delicious. Ate it on Ritz crackers last night when I got home from work. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom January 24, 2004

Oooh, these were good! I actually mashed the whites and made this into an egg salad. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 22, 2004
Deviled Eggs