11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were a hit! however....I found that trying to cut the eggs in a zigzag pattern was close to impossible so I cut them straight across and they looked just fine. Check out my pics. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe May 13, 2009

Wow! I forgot to rate this recipe! This was a huge hit last year at a brunch I went to. On step #10 I found it easier to cut the egg completly in half rather then just 1/3. I also think next time I make this I will use smaller eggs then the extra large, only because it was a bit too much for just 1 serving. I did love the idea though! I used some of the pimento from the olives for the beak rather then red bell pepper. Thanks for the cute idea it was a huge hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proud Veteran's wife March 21, 2008

These eggs are a nice surprise on a buffet table. I colored the peeled eggs in 1 cup water plus 8-10 drops food coloring before cutting the top section. I didn't have any olives, so I used a few small pieces of red bell pepper for the eyes. Thanks for posting such fun recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( April 16, 2006

Such a cute idea! I used our own favorite filling, but otherwise followed the directions using the zigzag pattern, adorable olive eyes and red bell pepper beak. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews April 02, 2012

These were a hit at our Easter Dinner. I did have a little trouble with them as the filling was a little squishy. Will try again with smaller eggs and a thicker filling. Thanks for sharing a really neat idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea April 04, 2010

Cute Easter treat. I wasn't sure if I could cut the zig zag properly, but all turned out pretty good. Worth the extra work for Easter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefster** April 23, 2008

We made these little peepers for Easter this year. They looked so cute as the centerpiece for our buffet table. I even added chopped olives in with the mix. We all enjoyed them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva March 25, 2008

I am posting a review to thank you for the idea. We didn't have enough time to make the eggs this way but we sliced them in half (like the traditional deviled egg)and piped in the filling. Then we added the "eyes and beak". Everyone still got a kick out of them! Just a quicker variation on your adorable idea. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesslisa of a galaxy far far away April 17, 2006

I made these yesterday for our family Easter dinner. It was a little time-consuming to cut the tops off and carefully get the yolks out, but well worth the results! My 6 year old had a great time putting the eyes & beaks on! We just used bits of pimiento from extra olives for the beaks & they worked well. The chicks looked fabulous and will probably become a fun Easter tradition at our house! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami April 17, 2006

I wish you could have seen the little one's faces... as well as the adults... when they spotted these adorable chicks on the dinner table. They were quite a hit... and looked so cute nestled among the spring greens on the plate. I used carrots and red bell pepper for the eyes and mouth (no olives) and they were not only cute but tasty too! Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was a HIT at Easter dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna April 16, 2006
Deviled Egg Chicks!