11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Lovely salad. I used a vadalia onion, green olives and subbed in some gherkins for the capers. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama June 06, 2012

This was a hit all the way around at our house. We enjoyed the zippy taste but then we love things like olives and capers and can tolerate strong flavors. Where I can see that some may not have liked the zippiness, we really did and it is something for people to consider before trying this out. If one is not afraid of flavor, I suggest they jump right in, the water's fine!!! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

I used leftovers of 2 chicken breasts that were marinated and cooked on the bbq. I omitted the red onion (due to DH). I used one small red bell pepper (I loved it in this salad). I used a little bit less of pimento stuffed olive but next time I'll try black. I didn't use caper cause it was salty enough. I ate this chicken salad in a tortillas with lettuce. Delicious. thanks Engrossed. Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 29, 2008

This is a great little recipe. I made it just as stated except used low-fat or fat-free ingredients for the dressing. I did omit the olives. I served it on a whole wheat roll with lettuce and tomato. Loved the zip from the capers and the slight heat from the dijon. Reviewed for PAC Spring 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally April 07, 2008

I thought this was nice, though I liked it better on a sandwich than by itself - alone, I found the olives overpowered any other flavors; on a sandwich they blended in better. I did use the optional bell pepper, but left out the parsley. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 September 14, 2007

This made a nice dinner salad atop some greens. The dressing was very good and I enjoyed the addition of capers and green olives. I'm too late for RSC but in my book, this is a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 August 28, 2007

A wonderful salad that made excellent use of the RSC10 ingredients in an imaginative way - we had this for lunch served with just crusty bread. I LOVED the addition of the capers - it really made the flavours work for me! I might omit the pimento stuffed olives next time however - it was just personal taste, but we tried it with mixed (black and green) plain olives later, and it was not so "busy" in flavours - just personal taste as I said! Good luck in the contest - a very nice "fresh" and "zingy" chicken salad that will always be easy to make! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart August 28, 2007

This is very good!! I have made it twice. The first time I amde it, I didn't have any sour cream, so I made it without it. It didn't taste right. There was a "different" taste to it. I didn't really like it. Once I got some sour cream, I decided to give the recipe another try and make it as written. I am glad I did! The result, with the sour crean in it, came out totally different. It was very good. The sour cream must somehow make the other ingredients work together to make a great chicken salad. I put it on Ficcosia bread. Now I have another great chicken salad recipe to make. This is for RSC #10. Good luck in the contest. This recipe is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof August 26, 2007

I liked this a lot! Nice savory and spicy flavor. I used green olives and would recommend them (if you like them of course). I used light mayo and sour cream, and they worked quite well. Quick and easy too. I served it on whole wheat bread. I would recommend chilling it for at least an hour to blend the flavors. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD August 24, 2007

This is a very nice chicken salad - tangy and flavorful. Made a great lunch. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. August 24, 2007
Deviled Chicken Salad