8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked the sweetness from the brown sugar but the heat. WOW, is this hot, I used the full amount of cayenne pepper. I'll have to cut that in half next time. And I'm a spicy heat lovin' kind of gal. I made this for ZWT III 2007 - Australian & New Zealand Region.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 02, 2007

I was very uncertain about this dish. I must say though that they had a good flavor, but were waaaaaaaaaay too hot for me. I was only able to eat a few then I had to go running for some more milk. Next time I will cut back on the cayenne. My son hated them and my husband was still undecided this morning whether he liked them or not. I will try them again though. Very simple to put together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Jennie June 01, 2007

Yummy carrots! I loved the spicy, tangy sweetness. Used plenty of everything. I was too lazy to cut up carrots and used baby carrots - had to microwave them in the end to get them cooked all the way through. Made for the Australian trip in ZWT III. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. May 31, 2007

OMG! These carrots are so FABULOUS! Since we have heat wimps in the house I was forced to use less cayenne, but oh my!! these are scrumptious! I used brown sugar and will do so the next time I make them (except I will add more cayenne for me) I will probably make this recipe a 1000 times in my lifetime. Thank you so much Jessica! ZWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper May 29, 2007

I will make this again!! I did back off on the cayenne pepper to 1/8th tsp. That was just right!! This makes a great side dish!! So colorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kymmarie May 25, 2007

I cut back the cayenne to 1/2 tsp. but it was still HOT!!! Also added an extra Tbsp of water to cook longer and possibly dilute the cayenne. Next time will cut the cayenne to 1/8th tsp so my kids will eat it. This is a quick recipe. Thanks for sharing Jessica!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin November 01, 2005

We like things spicy, but found 1/2 the cayenne to be plenty. I used the pre-cut matchstick carrots, and the recipe was so fast to make. I liked the sweet/hot flavor, and DH just loved them. Thanks for posting this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 29, 2005

Awesome! Were these hot! I threw caution to the wind and added the entire teaspoon of cayenne. Then I sneezed and coughed (away from the stove) while the carrots were cooking. The carrots ended up being very lightly coated with sauce and blackened in places. I used baby carrots sliced 0-2 times lengthwise depending on thickness. I also used the brown sugar option and simmered a couple minutes longer than the recipe specified. I ate a couple of carrots and was hooked. These are very addictive! My BF thought they were too hot (he's not rating this recipe though) so I gobbled up his share, and hopefully will not go blind with an overdose of vitamin A. I still wish I had used the entire 16 ounze bag. YUM! Anyone else trying this recipe may want to cut back on the cayenne though. THANKS a mil Jessica!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend October 26, 2005
Deviled Carrots